Skip to content

Life of a Genie – January and February 2024

February 26, 2024

52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks

I have decided this year, to participate in the 52 Ancestors Challenge, as it’s a few years since I’ve done it. The aim of this challenge, which is set by genealogist, Amy Johnson Crow, is to write about one ancestor every week in 2024, according to a given prompt. I will be writing about my direct ancestors, and also about other family members.

A few of the prompts look quite tricky, and seem to have no relevance at all to my family history, so I may skip a few weeks along the way.

Rootstech 2024

Rootstech 2024, the largest genealogical conference in the world, begins on 29 February and runs until 02 March, and once again, I will be attending the conference virtually, I attended Rootstech in person in 2016, and am looking forward to going to Salt lake City again in the future, but that’s not this year.

I have checked out the sessions and made my list of those that interest me. I’ve kept the days free, so I can devote the entire time to Rootstech. Also, I’m very interested to see all the latest trends in genealogy and technology in the the Expo Hall.

One of the fun aspects of Rootstech is their Relatives at Rootstech, an optional activity. If you wish to, you can see others who are registered, and researching people that are on your family tree. This does cause quite a bit of excitement, as attendees check how many Relatives at Rootstech they have. There are people who have thousands, but so far this year, I only have seven. This will possibly increase during the conference but, I suspect, only by a few.

Transcribing

Last year, the Australian War Memorial called for volunteers to transcribe war diaries and documents,from their National Collection, as part of their transcribe project. So far I’ve transcribed parts of a war diary and five letters. This will be an ongoing project, that I’m planning to continue. For a few years, I’ve been transcribing 18th century Scottish prison records, but from here on, will prioritise the War Memorial documents.

A to Z Challenge

Once again, I am planning to participate in the Blogging April AtoZ Challenge. This year, I have decided that I will be blogging April A to Z on my new One Place Study Haverfordwest History

Connections 2025

This is the Australasian Genealogy Conference that is being held in March 2025 at Brisbane. Writing this post has reminded me that I haven’t as yet registered, so I will do that this week and arrange our accommodation. We are hoping to combine this visit to the conference at Brisbane with a visit to Noosa to spend time with my son and grandchildren.

Research
Finally, I’ve been able to find time to get back to fam8ily history research. I’ve done more research in the past two months than I’ve done in the previous two years. This has opened up avenues that I hadn’t expected, so my research task list is now much longer. As you know, it’s never over. Research leads to more research to be done, but that’s the fun of it.

Link to posts in January and February
52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks – Immigration
52Ancestors in 52 Weeks – Earning a Living
52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks -Influencer
52 Ancestors in 52Weeks – Witness To History
52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks – Favourite Photo
52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks – Origins
52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks -Family Lore
Australia Day Geneameme
Genealogy Blogging Plans for 2024

©2024 copyright. All rights reserved jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com

Edit

6 Comments
  1. Jenny ! so happy for you that by participating in 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks you have accomplished so much research. And love your idea for the A-Z challenge. Can’t wait to catch up next year at the Conference. And yes, I must register too!

  2. mollyscanopy permalink

    Well, you’ve put me to shame — such an organized plan whereas mine is all over the place! You are in an inspiration. Glad to hear you will be participating in A to Z. I am planning to as well…if I can get my topic organized 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia