Skip to content

Australia Day Geneameme

January 24, 2024

Recently, Aussie genealogy blogger, Jill, aka Geniaus put out a reminder of an Australia Day Geneameme that was devised by Pauleen, aka CassmobCASSMOB in 2014. This meme is still current today, so I’m taking up the “C’mon Aussie” call to reply. Big thanks to both Pauleen and Jill.

My first ancestor to arrive in Australia was Thomas Jones. I haven’t been able to find any information about his arrival. I know that he was in Tasmania in 1839, when his son was born. His wife was informant on his death certificate and she noted that he came to Australia as military.

I have Australian Royalty: My 4x great grandmother, Hanorah Ahern, was convicted of stealing and transported to Australia for seven years on the SS Catherine. 

I’m an Aussie mongrel, my ancestors came to Oz from: England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales

Did any of your ancestors arrive under their own financial steam? A few did, but most were assisted immigrants

How many ancestors came as singles? Only a few. 

How many came as couples? Andrew Louden and Elizabeth Anderson were married in Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland in 1852. They left Scotland five months later on the Aberfoyle, bound for Australia.

How many came as family groups? Most of my ancestors came with children, as family groups.

Did one person lead the way and others follow? My 2x great grandfather, Farquhar Morison came out in 1848. There were others who followed. My 2x great grandmother Ellen Boyle, came to Australia as part of the Earl Grey Famine orphan scheme. Eight years later, her mother, brother and her brother’s children followed her out to Australia.

What’s the longest journey they took to get here? They all came from Britain, so the journey was long for everyone

Did anyone make a two-step emigration via another place? Not that I know about.

Which state(s)/colony did your ancestors arrive? NSW, Tasmania, Victoria, and a few to South Australia

Did they settle and remain in one state/colony? A few who arrived in NSW, went on to Tasmania. Members of the Jones and McQueen families moved to Victoria, from Tasmania. There were Victorians who found their way to NSW and Queensland.

Did they stay in one town or move around? There were many who moved around to follow the gold rush and also other work.

Do you have any First Australians in your tree? No, I haven’t come across any.

Were any self-employed? A few were self employed

What occupations or industries did your earliest ancestors work in? They were mostly farmers and labourers.

Does anyone in the family still follow that occupation? I would say there are few farmers but probably many labourers

Did any of your ancestors leave Australia and go “home” No they all stayed in Australia

NOW IT’S ALL ABOUT YOU

What’s your State of Origin? Victoria

Do you still live there? Yes

Any special place you like to holiday now? At the moment, it’s The Sunshine Coast, Queensland, where my son and grandchildren live.

Share your favourite spot in Oz: Falls Creek, in the Victorian High Country

Falls Creek Waterfall

What’s on your Australian holiday bucket list? I would like to travel to King Island, in the Bass Street. I have family members who died there in Australia’s largest civilian maritime disaster. I would like to see the memorial that has been erected, and visit the museum that commemorates the event.

How do you celebrate Australia Day? When I was President of a local community group, the day always began early with an Aussie Barbie breakfast followed by an Australia Day ceremony. These days we have a relaxing day at home usually. This year on Australia Day, we will be heading to Bright at the foothills of the Victorian Alps, for a week’s holiday.


©2024 copyright. All rights reserved jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com

From → genealogy

7 Comments
  1. The military in Tasmania are quite well documented though I appreciate Thomas Jones is a common name. I had several forebears in Tasmania with the military in the 1830s. The 21st foot arrived 1832/3 and left 1839 (my forebear stayed behind in Tasmania. Another relative arrived 1838 with the 51st regiment. It could be worth trying to research the muster rolls to see if you can track Thomas.

    • Thanks Anne. I checked the muster rolls many years ago and didn’t find anything. But now you mention it, I should take another look. Fresh eyes can often see something where it couldn’t be seen previously.

  2. mollyscanopy permalink

    This is an excellent way of summarizing your Australian ancestors’ common and unique experiences. I feel you pain not to find immigration info on Thomas Jones. I have Irish immigrants who came through Canada to the U.S. and since Canadian records are limited, so I have no details on them.

  3. I enjoyed reading this – and it sent me straight to my family tree on Ancestry as I was sure there was an ancestor in there named Louden from Lanarkshire, but no, just a heap of Hamiltons.

  4. kanahookarob2904f01910 permalink

    Thanks. I’ll certainly keep this

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia