Skip to content

52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks – Origins

January 16, 2024

This aim of this challenge is to write about one ancestor every week in 2024, according to a given prompt. I will be writing about my ancestors and also about other family members.

Genealogists often get the question, “Where is your family from?” With this week’s theme, you could explore an immigrant ancestor, but you could also think about the origin of other aspects of your family. Who was the first person in your family to settle in a particular town? If you have a long line of people with the same occupation, talent, etc, who was the first person you know who did it? – Amy Johnson Crow

When I first started researching my family, almost three decades ago, I was hoping to find something exotic in my ancesty. I was very quickly disappointed as I searched, to find that it seemed I was very British. When DNA became available, I tested hoping once again to find something surprising. My DNA results confirmed that my research was correct. I was almost completely British, except for a tiny percentage of Nordic.

Following is a listing of the ancestry lines that I have been reseaching, and their place of origin.

BOYLE – Donegal, Ireland.
CALNAN – Kilkenny, Ireland
COX – Steeple Ashton and Bath, Wiltshire, England
GILMOUR -Ireland
JONES – London, England
LLOYD – Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales
LOUDEN – Old Monkland, Lanarkshire, Scotland
LOVE – Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire, England
McPHERSON – Sleat, Inverness, Scotland
McQUEEN – Trelawny, Cornwall, Jamaica
MORRISON/MORISON = Glenshiel, Ross & Cromarty, Scotland
TAYLOR – Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales
WATERS – Dunton, Bedfordshire, England
WEBB – Bradford On Avon, Wiltshire, England,


©2024 copyright. All rights reserved jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com

From → genealogy

2 Comments
  1. Richard Alan Vickers permalink

    Hi Jennifer,

    I have been enjoying your Tracking Down The Family posts and while it’s a bit of a long shot, it is just possible that we are distantly related given that we both have Loudens as ancestors. My Louden connections are as follows:

     GGG Grandfather    Archibald LOUDEN 1770 (Ceres, Fife) – 1837 (Ceres, Fife) – married 1797 (Ceres, Fife) – Janet GRIEVE
     GG Grandfather     John LOUDEN 1798 (Ceres, Fife) – 1859 (Dundee, Fife) – married 1821 (Leuchars, Fife) – Anne MALCOLM
     G grandfather       James LOUDEN 1835 (Pitlessie, Fife) – 1885 (Melbourne) – married 1867 (Melbourne) – Marion CHRISTIE
     Grandmother       Jessie LOUDEN 1879 (Melbourne) – 1943 (Albury) – married 1901 Robert VICKERS

    Robert Vickers was my grandfather.

    If you think you have a connection to any of these Loudens I’d be happy to provide whatever further information I have.

    Kind regards,

    Richard Vickers

    Siblings of James LOUDEN were:
      Euphemia chr 2/12/1821 Ceres, Fife
      David chr 8/2/1833 Cults, Fife d 30/3/1858 Dundee
      Archibald chr 11/9/1825 Kettle, Fife; died 4/12/1871Melbourne
    Christian chr 12/10/1828, Kettle, Fife
    John chr 24/10/1830 Cults, Fife; died 12/6/1869 Dundee
    Janet chr 26/10/1823 Kemback, Fife 

    • Thanks for making contact Richard. As far as I can see, none of my Loudens were from Fife. However there could easily be a branch that I haven’t researched that went there. Some of your Louden names occur repeatedly in my Louden family. We have many John, James, David and Janet and a few Euphemia. I would appreciate if you could send your email address to me in case I come across a connection. My email is jones.jenniferalison@@gmail.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia