Skip to content

52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks – Favourite Photo

January 20, 2024

This aim of this challenge is to write about one ancestor every week in 2024, according to a given prompt. I will be writing about my ancestors and also about other family members.

“…………Tell the story of a favorite photo: Who is in it, when and where it was taken, and why it was taken. (That last part is often left out!) Feel free to leave your links and stories (and photos!) in the comments”.  – Amy Johnson Crow

The photo below is my favourite of the few photos that I have featuring my ancestors. The photo was taken on my great grandparents wedding day.

Earnest Welfare WATERS married Hilda Mary Beatrice GILMOUR on 29 January 1902. At the time of their marriage Ernest was living at Rochester, but they married at the Salvation Army in Fitzroy. Hilda’s home was Fitzroy. They were both committed members of The Salvation Army. After their marriage, they made their home at Rochester.

After their marriage, Earnest and Hilda continued their Salvation Army connection. I can well remember my grandparents wearing their Salvation Army uniforms at all times. They were both very active members and very highly respected by all at their Salvation Army corps. As a young person, most times when I came into contact with a Salvation Army elder, they would want to talk to me about my great grandparents. They were very highly respected.

This was the second marriage for Ernest. He was married to Elizabeth MACROW on 21 February 1899. Elizabeth had been a Salvation Army Officer, but was required to step down from that position when they married, as Salvation Army Officers could only marry other Officers. Elizabeth passed away, almost two years after their marriage on 11 January 1901.

You will notice the musical instrument my great grandfather is holding in his wedding portrait. It is a cornet which he played for many years in the Salvation Army Band. I have the feeling that this cornet was his pride and joy. I remember it well, and it’s still in the family.

Earnest and Hilda were the parents of my grandmother Leola Jean WATERS

Earnest Waters and Hilda Mary Beatrice Gilmour on their wedding day

In the News

The newspaper article below was taken on the occasion of my great grandparents, Earnest and Hilda’s sixtieth wedding anniversary. It was taken in my aunts lounge room. I know that because I was there. That is me, inb the family photo, above, third from the left, behind my great grandmother. My mother is on the couch, on the right, holding my younger sister.

©2024 copyright. All rights reserved jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com

From → family history

13 Comments
  1. I think that is a fun prompt. When you say tell a “story” about the photo can it be a fictional story or does it have to be something true?

  2. mollyscanopy permalink

    Remarkable photos! I love their expressions in the first picture — looking into the future. Then the second photo, which shows what the future held. Well done.

  3. Jenny Hawran permalink

    Love these photos!

  4. Climbing My Family Tree permalink

    Wow, great wedding photo, and fascinating background story. TY for sharing!

  5. How interestingly different! I have never came across anyone who married (and chose to be married) at the Salvation Army. 🙂 I love the expression on your great grandmother’s face as well; it is quite unique compared to other photos taken at that time! You can truly see how happy she is! 🙂

  6. Jen I’m so late in catching up with other people’s blog posts and so very late writing my own. I can understand why this is a favourite photo. How wonderful to have both photos and the cornet in each. Like bookends of a life.

    • Yes that’s how I think of these photos Alex. I’m very late in catching up with others and also in posting. Seems I’m constantly in catch up mode. Hoping to find time to get on top of it. Hoping, not expecting 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia