Skip to content

52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Witness to History

January 25, 2024

What historical events did your ancestor witness or live through? Don’t forget that local history is just as important as world history!

My 2x great grandmother, Ellen Boyle was a witness to history, both in Ireland at the time that the potato famine decimated the potato crops, and left much of the population destitute. After the death of her father, Ellen found herself in the workhouse, when her mother was no longer able to care for her. She was eventually selected, from the workhouse girls, to go to Australia under the Orphan Emigration Scheme. It was in Australia that she witnessed the birth and growth of the new country.

Each year in November, there is a commemoration of the Irish famine girls on the foreshore at Williamstown, Victoria. This is where many of the orphan girls first stepped onto Australian soil. Last year, I was invited to be a guest at the commemoration, where I presented the story of my 2x great grandmother’s experience of arriving in Australia, and her life after arrival.

Following is a transcript of the presentation that I gave on the day that commemorated the arrival of the Irish famine girls in Australia. There were many descendants of other orphans there on the day, with many stories to tell. Following is the story of Ellen Boyle, as she possibly would have told it herself.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION 2023 – IS MISE ELLEN BOYLE

Is Mise Ellen Boyle – I am Ellen Boyle.

I was born in Inver, Co Donegal, in the north-west corner of Ireland. It’s a wild and beautiful place. We were poor tenant farmers. Life was hard, but our family and our community were strong. We grew potatoes; a good crop in the lazy beds of our small plot, that gave enough for us to eat and pay our rent.

And then the hunger came. The potatoes rotted in the ground. People were evicted from their homes. My Da, Daniel, died. Left alone, and with the Famine raging, my mother Ann struggled to look after us all. So I went to the poorhouse. It was a feared place, but I would have food and shelter, and I could work for my keep.

There, families were separated, some never to see each other again. We were called inmates, wore rough uniforms, and slept on pallets on the floor in crowded dormitories. We women did household chores, sewing, carding, knitting and spinning. Punishments were harsh, so we obeyed all the rules. I sometimes feared I might live my life in the workhouse, and be buried in the graveyard at the back, like so many others.


But in 1848 we were told of a new scheme. Girls aged 14 to 19, if healthy and of good morals, could go to Australia to work and live. It was a fearful thought, it was so far away. But it was exciting too; we would be free in the New World. We could make our own lives, and our own luck. And when I did well, I would bring my family to Australia too! I was chosen and, in my 16th year, set out with my new clothes, shoes, Bible and travel box.


We sailed from Plymouth on a big ship called the Lady Kennaway. There were 191 Irish orphan girls on board. The trip took three whole months. We shared bunks in steerage and ate in a small mess area. We were kept apart from other passengers, overseen by a doctor and matrons. The creak of the ship became a comfort as it rode the waves. The sea was so big, we could scarce imagine it! And the smell of the salt air sometimes reminded me of home in dear Donegal.

On 6 December we sailed into Port Phillip, where we anchored off a settlement called Williamstown. We gathered on deck looking at the busy docks and workers, dusty streets, and mix of wooden and stone buildings. Strangest of all, the day was hot – in December – I never knew such a thing!

We were helped down the side of the ship and into small boats that bounced over the waves as we were rowed to the shore. Spray from the water was fresh on our faces, and there was nary a cloud in the big, blue sky. Usually, we would chatter in excitement, but most of us just sat in silence and looked on our new land with wide eyes and beating hearts.


The city of Melbourne was only a few miles away. It was big and bustling. We stayed in dormitories at the Immigration Depot, tidying ourselves to make a good show for employers. I couldn’t read or write, but I was a good worker. I was there for six days, when I got work with Mr Charles Ryan. He was from Co Kilkenny, and I was happy to be chosen by someone from home. I was a housemaid, engaged for three months at £12 a year with rations. Mr Ryan had a farm – they called it a station. It was a very long way from Melbourne, on a river called the Goulburn. The station had a funny name, Dungallack. Did ye ever hear of such a name?!

It was the start of a good life for me. I met a wonderful man, William Calnan. He was a Kilkenny man and, one year on, we were married in St Francis Catholic Church in Melbourne. We moved to the country, finally settling at Violet Town where we built our own farm, and were blessed with 12 children – six boys and six girls.

Then, in 1857, I was given a true miracle, when my dear mother, my brother Patrick and his daughters were able to migrate to Australia. They settled near us, at Violet Town. After 33 years together, I lost my William. I ran the farm for a few more years, then moved into the township.

It was 13 years later, in 1896, when my life’s great journey would come to an end. I was 63 years on this earth. I had lost people I loved, endured the Great Hunger, survived the dreaded workhouse, and fled to the other end of the world. But it was also my luck to marry a good man, raise fine children, and reunite with my mother and brother. Many poor souls were not so lucky.

I was an Irish Famine orphan girl, and I was blessed with a grand life. Is mise, Ellen Boyle.

Written by: Siobhan O’Neill, Irish Famine Orphan Girls Committee, 14 Nov 2023.
Presented by Jennifer Jones, 2x great granddaughter

Ellen Boyle arrived travelled to Australia, with the Earl Grey Orphan Scheme on the SS Lady Kennaway

Below is another post that I wrote about Ellen Boyle and the Earl Grey Orphan Girl Scheme:
Ellen Boyle, Earl Grey Famine Girl

©2024 copyright. All rights reserved jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com

From → Family stories

10 Comments
  1. Nancy Casey permalink

    Wonderful! I’ve yet to discover my Irish family’s exact story, though I do know when they arrived in the U.S. Someday…

  2. Great post Jen! It’s a good day to reflect on our family history. How special that must have been to be part of the commemoration. I’m sure your ancestor was with you in spirit on the day.

  3. How wonderful that you got to present this at the commemoration! What fantastic infoand research! Where did you find it all?!

    • I’ve been researching for many years Diane, I found this information in Australia. Mostly in archives and from details on civil registration certificates

  4. Climbing My Family Tree permalink

    Such an emotionally moving story. Thank you for sharing your ancestor with all of us!

  5. I could have kept reading that story forever. Beautiful moving post. It’s amazing what people went through. My grandmother had such a story but she was from Lithuania and came to the US by herself at 16 and had quite a story to follow. Judee from Gluten Free A-Z Blog.

    • Thankyou for your lovely comments. I’m so pleased you enjoyed reading my story. I’m your grandmother would have also had her stories to tell.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia