Skip to content

Bucket List GeneaMeme

February 11, 2012

I’ve been waiting impatiently for the next Geneameme challenge from Geniaus and finally it was  revealed a couple of weeks ago. I have been anxious to get to it, but due to circumstances, mainly of work, have not had a spare minute to mull it over until now.

 Geniaus says:    “I invite all genealogists and family history freaks to join me by sharing your bucket list of events, places, people and resources, you would most like to experience before you leave this mortal earth”.

This Meme really calls to me as I have such a long to-do list and never seem to find enough time to cross too many things off.  Much of my research will need to wait a few years, until retirement, but until then I’m just doing whatever I can do, when I can do it, and trying not to stress over not doing enough.

The list should be annotated in the following manner:

Things you would like to do or find: bold type

Things you haven’t done or found and don’t care to: plain type

You are encouraged to add extra comments after each item

So here’s my Bucket List GeneaMeme

  1. The genealogy conference I would most like to attend is Rootstech 2013 (definitely going) & Who Do You Think You Are in London next February (desperately want to go)
  2. The genealogy speaker I would most like to hear and see is Thomas McEntee of GeneaBloggers
  3. The geneablogger I would most like to meet in person is Geniaus  and  Judy Webster (sorry can’t choose just one)
  4. The genealogy writer I would most like to have dinner with is Chris Paton  of  British GENES –  due to his immense knowledge of Scotland the interesting stories he has to tell
  5. The genealogy lecture I would most like to present is the story of my ancestor who was murdered by her husband and how this sparked my obsession with family history
  6. I would like to go on a genealogy cruise that visits. (I have been on a genealogy cruise  recently, which I enjoyed but would rather stay on land for a while now)
  7. The photo I would most like to find is a photo of my great grandfather WILLIAM TAYLOR
  8. The repository in a foreign land I would most like to visit is Pembrokeshire Record Office Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire Wales,
  9. The place of worship I would most like to visit is St. Martins, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales
  10. The cemetery I would most like to visit is Dunton, Bedfordshire, England
  11. The ancestral town or village I would most like to visit is  Dunton Bedfordshire 
  12. The brick wall I most want to smash is to find evidence of the death of my great great grandfather JOHN TAYLOR
  13. Publishing software for my family history book, but haven’t decided which to use yet
  14. The tech toy I want to purchase next is a Flip Pal. Actually I have purchased it, but it hasn’t arrived yet. At the moment there’s nothing else I want
  15. The expensive CD/DVD I would like is Victoria’s Early Church Records
  16. The library I would most like to visit is Bedford Central Library, England
  17. The genealogy related book I would most like to write is the story of my WATERS  family (have started it)
  18. The genealogy blog I would most like to start would be about Inquests in Victoria
  19. The journal article I would most like to write would be about my Great Grandfather THOMAS WATERS
  20. The ancestor I most want to meet in the afterlife is my Great Great Grandfather, JOHN TAYLOR

From → Geneamemes

One Comment
  1. Thanks for participating and the compliment Jennifer – I hope to see you at Rootstech 2013 if not before somewhere in Australia.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia