Skip to content

Week 6: 52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy

February 15, 2012

Amy Coffin of The We Tree Genealogy Blog in conjunction with GeneaBloggers has called for bloggers of genealogy and family history to take on the 2012 challenge of  52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy    This week’s topic is Family heirlooms: For which family heirloom are you most thankful? How did you acquire this treasure? And what does it mean to you and your family?

About 7 years ago my mother gave me this beautiful tablecloth. It was crocheted by hand by my great grandmother, HILDA MARY BEATRICE WATERS, nee GILMOUR. She died on 17 July 1967, in Shepparton, when I was 13 years old.  I can remember her well and my memory is of her sitting in her chair in the living room doing her needlework. At the time, I wasn’t interested in what she was doing, but I really wish now that I had taken more notice. This tablecloth means so much to me, as it represents her as the very accomplished needlewoman that she was known to be. I have many beautiful photos of her, at all stages of her life, but this is the only one of her possessions that I have.

When I was about 10 years old, she gave me a very old book, which was printed in the late 19th century. I don’t remember the name of it, but I read it many times and loved  and cherished it. Unfortunately it was destroyed in our house fire, when I was an adult with my own family,  so I no longer have it.  This makes me feel very sad, as I know she gave me the book, because she knew I loved to read, and had no doubt at all that I would look after it.

2 Comments
  1. What a beautiful piece of artwork. I’m so sorry your treasured book was destroyed. That’s very sad.

  2. Linda permalink

    That was my 12th birthday. I still have many pieces of embroidery and crotchet that my grandmother was always doing – these were the practical embroidered handkerchiefs with hand made lace edges, and wooden coat-hangers that had been padded and had crotched covers to make them look nice. These were standard birthday presents for me and my female cousins for many, many years – I still have all mine – both coat-hangers and hankies. Not so sure about my cousins!

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria