Skip to content

Why Do Family History? #ANZAncestryTime

January 28, 2021

The recent topic for #ANZAncestryTime, was Why Do Family History. In case you haven’t caught up with it yet, #ANZAncestryTime is genealogy/familyhistory discussion on Twitter. I’m very happy to be one of the moderators, and look forward to our sessions, every Tuesday night at 8pm AEST

The discussion on this topic was robust and very interesting. I loved hearing how others found themselves knee deep in family history. The questions also made me think a bit more about my own involvement, so I thought I would record my involvement here. This blog is archived by the National Archives of Australia, so I’d like to think that one day in the far distant future, one of my descendants might go searching for me and come across my stories here.

Question 1

a. What prompted you to start family history research and when?
I was introduced to family history when a relative asked me to help her organise a reunion for my inlaws’ family and then suggested I start to research my own family. Started in 1985.

When I first started researching my family history, it was only to find out about my fathers parents. He was an orphan, and his parents were never discussed in our family. My father said his parents had no family. I found they both had a huge family.

One of my earliest finds was that my father’s parents died within 6 weeks of each other. Causes of death were not connected There were eleven children. My father was the second youngest. I wrote about my reaction to this news https://jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/2020/08/25/the-day-i-burst-into-tears-at-births-deaths-marriages-victoria-52ancestors/

b. Any exciting, surprising, sad, or shocking discoveries?
There have been many surprises along the way, I found I had 50 first cousins from Dad’s family who were previously unknown to me

Question 2

a. Have you researched offline as well as online?
When I first started there was no online research. It was all done by attending archives, societies etc. I loved in person research, and still do on the rare occasion I get to do it.

b. What do you treasure most about your research?
Mostly I treasure my ancestors. I now understand the sacrifices they made many years ago in the hope of having a better life. These sacrifices have given me the great life that I have in Australia

I treasure all the official documents and photos that I’ve come across through research or have been given. It distresses me that I have nobody to pass them on to. But that’s another subject for another week

Question 3

a. Did you inherit any Family History research, family stories or photos?
I have inherited no family history research, however along the way, cousins who I’ve met have shared their information with me. I verify everything before adding it to my family tree or files.

I’ve been given many photos by family members. Unfortunately there are very few old photos of my family that I’ve found so far

b. Did you take the information as given or verify it?

c. Have cousin connections expanded your research?
I’ve met many cousins, mainly through my blog, who have shared research, family search and photos. These new connections are very precious to me. I have ongoing relationships with many and with their families

Question 4

a. Why is it important to you to learn about your ancestors and their places?

I believe it’s important we understand where we come from, and our family backgrounds, in order to understand ourselves, and the world around us

Through family history, I’ve learnt much about the countries where my ancestors originated. Researching family history gives the opportunity to learn about the world

b. Has having immigrant ancestors been important to your quest?
Most definitely. My first ancestors were all immigrants so passenger and shipping records provide great information about their journey. These records also can provide information about their lives, before leaving their home for Australia.

c. Does family history benefit to your family and/or the community?
My family history research doesn’t really benefit my family as there is nobody in my family who has ever shown an interest. But family history led me to starting my One Place Study which will benefit my community.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is anzancestrytime-for-blog.png

©2021 copyright. All rights reserved jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com

From → family history

2 Comments
  1. You found 50 first cousins from your dad’s family, previously unknown? Wow, that’s a lot of cousins! I hope some of them were willing to share info and photos with you!

    • Yes 50 first cousins. I agree with you that it’s an incredible number. But big families had big families. Many of them did share info and photos with me. Many I’ve made a lasting connection with also. Thanks for visiting Marian

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia