Skip to content

2020 Organisation & Plans

January 6, 2020

2019 was a very disappointing year in genealogy for me. Usually at the beginning of the year, I set goals and intentions for the year. I did not do that in 2019, which I’m sure is why the year was so disappointing for me. Time pressures, due to working more hours than usual, affected the amount of research I did, which was very little. Also, I posted less on the blog, again due to time pressures. I feel quite disappointed at how little I did in 2019, so right here and right now, I’m committing to the following genealogy plan for 2020. I plan to block out times on my calendar, devoted to genealogy, so that I’m sure to meet all these goals in 2020.

52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks Challenge

The aim of this challenge is to write a story about an ancestor every week in 2020, using the weekly theme. It’s a great opportunity to collate all the bits and pieces of information that I’ve been gathering over more than three decades. My end goal for this challenge is to put these 52 stories into a book at the end of 2020.

The Scottish Vic Virtual Conference

The Scottish Vic Virtual Conference is held every year in January, on the Saturday closest to Robbie Burns’ birthday. In 2020, that date is January 25. There will be a series of presentations throughout the day, just as with an ‘attend one person’ conference. The big difference with this conference as an Australian, is that it is live during the night. So I’ll have to prepare myself to be able to stay awake for most of the night into the early hours.  I’m planning on researching my Scottish Ancestors in 2020 so this conference will be invaluable.

Inquest Series

I’m really pleased with the Inquest Series that started on this blog late in 2019. This will continue in 2020, as, surprisingly, there have been many inquests in my family history, into people who lost their lives suddenly and/or not through natural causes. I’m looking forward to sharing more of these inquests with readers, as the year progresses.

The Genealogy Blog Party

This blog party is organised by Elizabeth O’Neal from My Descendant’s Ancestors and has a monthly theme. When the theme relates to my family history or my blog, I plan to link up and join in the fun. This post will be linked to the January theme of “Organize and Prioritize” Please excuse me for using the American form of spelling, but this blog party originates from the U.S.

Legacy Family Tree Program

In late 2018, I changed over from Family Tree Maker, which I had been using for many years, to the Legacy Family Tree program. At the time I didn’t watch any of the webinars to learn how use the program, but just worked it out the best I could, as I used it. I’m really enjoying using the program, but am aware that there are many features to this program that I don’t use, I’m sure I they would be useful to me, if I knew more about them. So in 2020, I plan to watch the instructional webinars and learn all I can to get the most out of this great genealogy program.

Digital

I have many boxes of paper files which need to be digitised, so that I can donate them to Societies and Family History Centres. There are also many photos that need to be digitised.  This is a huge project that I’m sure will take me longer than a year to complete. In 2020, I will do what I can to get the digitising project started.

Family Tree Webinar Series

This is a free series with many really informative topics. Some of the presentations I’m most looking forward to are:

Smarter Search Strategies for Genealogists

Ten databases You Need To Know About

50 Websites Genealogists Should Know About

Below is the official listing of webinars for 2020.

Have you set genealogical goals for 2020. Are you planning to join in with any of the above?  I’d love to hear about your hopes and goals for 2020 and promise to reply to all comments left.

 

© 2019 Copyright. all rights reserved: jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com

From → genealogy

17 Comments
  1. Happy New Year and all the best for a successful year of researching and writing in 2020

  2. Climbing My Family Tree permalink

    Enjoyed reading about your goals and plans…you gave me a great idea, about watching videos to get better at skills like using my gen software. Thanks!

  3. Hi Jennifer, I love that you you posted about your goals on your blog. What a great way to hold yourself accountable as it’s written for all to see. Thank you for sharing information of family tree webinars. I wasn’t aware of them! Visiting from #blogparty

  4. Linda Stufflebean permalink

    You have a lot of great goals listed for this year – they are sure to get you back into the genealogy swing. 🙂 Webinars are a favorite of mine – so much to learn and it can be done right at home.

  5. rebekahjones permalink

    Love your goals Jennifer! I’m also doing #52Ancestors, but solely on Instagram as I made it too much of a production last year on the blog and dropped the ball. Keep it simple, and I’ll actually stick to it! 🙂 Looking forward to seeing your posts! (and your inquest series sounds fascinating….. )

  6. These are some great goals. I also didn’t do much with my genealogy in 2019 and decided to refocus my efforts in 2020.

  7. Family History Fanatics permalink

    Best of luck on your photo digitization project. I know how overwhelming that can be. I found that I would watch movies or listen to podcasts as I worked through stacks of photos and documents and it really helped.

    • Thanks for that great tip. I love podcasts and listening to audio books so hopefully they will help me keep my sanity during the project

  8. Jana Last permalink

    Some great goals here! The idea to put your 52 Ancestors posts in book form is awesome. I have put my blog in book form using Blurb for the first one and then Blog2Print for the next two. I have more blog books to print to finally catch up to 2020.

  9. I started doing the 52 ancestors/52 weeks challenge last year – did really well to begin with then other things got in my way…..
    It certainly pushed me to write some content though

  10. All the best, Jennifer, for 2020. I’m looking forward to reading your Inquest series.

  11. I am intrigued by your Coroner’s Inquest item. I have a coroner in my direct line in the 1700s in the U.S. I have also found a workplace death of collateral ancestor that was investigated by a coroner in Montreal, Quebec — a report I need to get. Thanks for the reminder and best of luck with your fresh start!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia