Skip to content

Three Lost Children of Daylesford – Good news 

November 29, 2016

I’ve written many times about the The Three Lost Children of Daylesford. Also, anyone who knows me, has heard about this story many times. Probably too many times, truth be told.

This story has no connection at all with my family history but it has intrigued and saddened me. I first came across the Lost Children story when searching walking trails in Daylesford. There is a walk dedicated to the children, through the Wombat Forest, which follows approximately, the route they took when they disappeared.

I did do the walk, and knowing the story and the reason for the walk, it left me feeling even sadder. I just couldn’t imagine small children walking over this terrain, during a cold winter and possibly having to walk through snow.  I felt strongly that this story should be told so that it doesn’t disappear. Even in Daylesford, when I made enquiries, I found that little was known about the story.

Next year will be the 150th anniversary of the disappearance of the children, and I have been hoping that there would be some sort of commemoration of the event in Daylesford. But I did fear that there wasn’t enough interest to allow this. I had been hoping that my blog post and Facebook page  (facebook.com/threelostchildren) dedicated to the children, would come to the attention of someone who was in a position to do something about it.

Now to the good news. I was contacted recently by Megan Riedl  from   Tripwire Theatre Inc. who are creating a play, about the story of the Three Lost Children, that they have named “Hollow. The play will be performed at The Daylesford Town Hall on June 30, 2017.

I feel very proud and happy that my Facebook page came to the attention of Megan, who agreed with me, that the story must be told.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Good work Jennifer – no wonder you are feeling chuffed.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia