Skip to content

2016 Genealogy Wrap

December 30, 2016

Here it is, almost the end of 2016, so it’s time to review my year in genealogy. 2016 was a very bleak year for me, in regard to genealogy, so the wrap will be short.  Firstly I should say that I injured myself in August, resulting in having my right arm in plaster for four months. This meant writing was difficult and frustrating, so I put aside my research and did very little blogging for those months.

In February, I attended RootsTech.org the world’s largest genealogical conference, held annually, in Salt Lake City, USA. Rootstech was an incredible experience, which I blogged about extensively. I learnt so many new things – about genealogy, technology, blogging and much more. The friends I made will never be forgotten, including the many online and blogger friends worldwide, who I was  finally able to meet.

Rootstech was the only conference that I attended this year which is disappointing. Hopefully that will change in 2017

One of the absolute joys of keeping the blog is the cousins that make contact with me. Some are close cousins, but also 2nd, 3rd or 4th cousins, some of whom are fellow researchers and others who just have an interest in their family history. Over the years, I’ve met many of these cousins, but also have  tried to keep in contact with those more geographically distant.

There has been fabulous news this year about the Three Lost Children Daylesford , a tragic family story that I occasionally blog about. Tripwire Theatre Inc. will be performing a play about the story, in Daylesford, in June 2017.  Very much looking forward to this.

That wraps up the year. It disappoints me to see how little I have achieved, but I do feel happy about the small achievements and progress made this year. Looking forward to a great year in genealogy in 2017

3 Comments
  1. It doesn’t sound little to me, despite your injury. Having kept in touch with so many, read so many blogs, attended RootsTech… all sounds like a more productive year than you give it credit for.

    • Thanks Chris. I was disappointed that blog wasn’t more nurtured. But definitely do so in 2017. Thanks for your support

      • You’re welcome, hope the arm is a lot better… looking forward to reading more in 2017.

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria