Skip to content

Waters Wednesday

November 4, 2015

Regular readers will know that the Waters family is one of the main focuses of research on my maternal side. I am working on the Waters book, though as yet the formet is undecided.  I have had about a year away from researching the family, to mainly write about them and prepare for the book.  But I’m back researching them again. Time now to fill in a few more gaps.

Anyone following me, with an interest in the Waters family, should check in here on Wednesdays . As from today, Wednesday will be known as Waters Wednesday.

The post will be a Waters family post or photo.

Just to kick things off, here is one of my favourite photos.

On the left is my Great Grandfather Ernest Welfare Waters and on the right is  his son, Bernard. They are both wearing Salvation Army uniforms. The Waters family, were very involved with the Salvation Army. The family originally lived at Rochester. I have been told that the Salvation Army brass band in Rochester was called “The Band of Many Waters” because there were so many Waters members. Ernest played his beloved cornet in the band. That cornet is still in the family today.

Bernard was a Salvation Army officer. Ernest wasn’t an official officer, but was called an Envoy. An Envoy is a person who is very involved in the Salvation Army but without having officially done the training to become an officer.

I remember my Great Great Grandfather very well, as he lived until I was 17.  He always wore his Salvation Army uniform. I feel very privileged to have had great grandparents in my life for so long.

Watch out here for further information on Ernest and Bernard.

From → Family stories

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia