Skip to content

52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks: Favourite Recipe

March 31, 2024

The point of this challenge is to write about one ancestor, every week in 2024, according to a given prompt. I will be writing about ancestors and other family members.

Food has a way of bringing up memories, whether it’s the cooking of a favorite recipe, meals shared with loved ones, or memories of kitchen mishaps! This week, explore a favorite recipe and the person or people who make that recipe special. – Amy Johnson Crow

Favourite Recipe

My 2x great grandparents John TAYLOR and Martha LLOYD came to Australia from Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire in Wales. Some examples of traditional Welsh food are Welsh Rarebit, Laverbread, Welsh Cawl, and Bara Brith. These are just a few of the delicious dishes that we tried when we were on a cycling holiday around Wales. I had never previously eaten any of these foods, but they were all delicious.

There was another traditional food that I fell in love with, and have made many times at home, since that trip, and that was Welsh Cakes. My memories of the day that I tried them, was that it was a tough day of cycling in the hills and extremely heavy rain. We stopped, exhausted, at a tearoom that we came across. We shook off our wet clothes, and sat in a warm, quiet corner, where we could watch the raging weather through the large windows. We ordered the Welsh Cakes and absolutely loved them. In fact, after that day, at almost every afternoon break, we ordered Welsh Cakes. They have since become a family favourite. The fact that they are linked to my heritage, makes them extra special.

Welsh Cakes

Welsh cakes, which are cooked on a hot griddle, are a cross between a scone and a pancake, but their taste and texture is completely different. They can be eaten plain or sprinkled with sugar. They can be spread with butter, jam, cream, or even chocolate spread topped with chopped marshmallows.

Welsh cakes have been popular in Wales since the late 19th century. They are also known as griddle cakes or bakestones, because they are cooked on top of the stove on a griddle.

©2024 copyright. All rights reserved jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com

From → Wales

10 Comments
  1. those sound awesome!

  2. Locksley permalink

    thank you for visiting us. I don’t have any ancestors as I was found in a field with my mummy, who died. I’m a guinea pig, of course. I liked your post. Those cakes look yummy.

    <a href=”https://georgesgpworld.uk”>Locksley @ George’s GP World</a>

  3. Hi Jennifer. I’ve never tried a Welsh Cake, but they sound tasty.

  4. They sound similar to Eccles cakes which I find delicious

  5. A fun post which has whet the appetite:)

  6. I love Welsh cakes!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia