Skip to content

Counting Down the Days Rootstech Connect 2021

February 18, 2021

Counting Down The Days

Rootstech is the world’s largest genealogy/family history conference, held annually in Salt Lake City Utah. This year, due to the pandemic, Rootstech Connect will be be virtual and free. This is very exciting news for genealogists, both amateur and professional, including myself.

I was lucky enough to have attended Rootstech in 2016. All I can say is that it was amazing. The Salt Palace conference centre was buzzing every day, with excited attendees from all over the world. With the huge number of sessions on offer, it was almost impossible to choose, but here was the opportunity, for a whole three days, to hear knowledgeable speakers from around the world.

The Expo Hall was a sight to behold with it’s displays and booths from companies that I was very familiar with, but had not had contact with, until now.

Another highlight of my Rootstech experience was the opportunity to meet other attendees, many who, like me, had travelled long distances. Catching up with Aussie geneabloggers was also, of course a huge highlight.

Geneabloggers at Rootstech 2016

Rootstech Connect 2021

But all that is in the past. Rootstech Connect 2021, is from 25 – 27 February, this year, with no need to travel long distances, as the entire conference is virtual. I’ve just seen the list of sessions – all eighteen pages of them, with speakers from 52 countries. I’ve marked off those sessions that I’d like to see, which is a large percentage of them, and far more than I could ever watch over the four days of the conference. The good news is that many of the sessions will be available to watch for most of the next year.

The Keynote Speakers are always a huge highlight, and this year will be no different. Keynotes on the main stage are high profile people from all walks of life – actors, musicians, athletes, family historians, and many more, who are widely known in their area of expertise.

Even though Rootstech Connect will be virtual, the Expo Hall will still be there, with exhibitors from all over the world showing their latest innovations in family history, including hands on demonstrations. So far, over 315,000 people have registered to attend from more than 220 countries. I find it difficult to get my head around the amount of work that this conference must be generating for the organisers.

I’m keen to have the conference experience, so will be hibernating so that I can watch as many sessions as possible, during the days of the conference. The bonus is that I will be watching them during the day Australian time, not US time, which will allow for sleep. I’ve made it known that I will not be available for anything other than Rootstech on these days. To say that I’m excited is an understatement!

Just a few of the sessions to give an example:

  • 21st Century Tools For Connecting With Family by Mike Sandberg
  • Ancestry DNA Communities: Bringing New Discoveries To Your Research by Lisa Elzey
  • Document What You Find by Ellie Vance
  • Pausing Time and Looking Back by Heidi Swapp

The above sessions are just a tiny, tiny taste of what is available at RootsTech 2021. If you think this is something you would be interested in, you can find out more RootsTech Connect. I’d love to hear in the comments if you’re planning to attend.

Link to posts about Rootstech Ambassadors:
Daily posts from TravelGenee with hints to prepare for Rootstech Connect
Jill from GeniAus has posted information about the program sessions and keynotes
Pauleen from Family history across the seas has posted information about Rootstech Connect
Sharn from FamilyHistory4 posted about how to prepare for Rootstech Connect

If you have written a post about Rootstech Connect, please leave the link in comments and I will add it to the above list

©2021 copyright. All rights reserved jonesfamilyhistory.wordpress.com

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia