Skip to content

Today is my birthday

January 31, 2017

Today is my birthday. Usually I wouldn’t be so self indulgent and post about myself, but today I have had a win and would like to share it.

For a few years, I’ve been looking for two photos that were taken of me when I was a small child. I particularly was after one photo that showed me with my bike. As an avid bike rider, as I have been as an adult, I was keen to see this photo. Today I was searching for something else and there they were, in the bottom of a box, lying side by side. I recently also found another photo of me that I had forgotten about.  These are probably the only photos in existence of me as a child.

I remember having this photo taken at the Shepparton Showgrounds, where my grandfather was caretaker. I would have been about 7 years old.  My grandparent’s house was on the grounds and we visited often, so the showgrounds was my backyard as a child. It was a great place for a child to ride. It was  away from the traffic and very quiet. Usually the only people around were workers and horse trainers. Don’t you love the bow in my hair?

 

I really don’t know anything at all about this photo at all.


This photo was taken at Nagambie swimming pool, where we occasionally went for day trips to swim. I would have been about 9 years old.

 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

From → Family stories

5 Comments
  1. Cheryl permalink

    Great pics Jen, glad you found them…happy birthday xx

  2. Delightful photos…what a great re-discovery!

  3. What treasures to rediscover on your special day! Happy Birthday, Jennifer!

  4. I’m a bit late to the birthday party but HAPPY BIRTHDAY! What lovely presents !

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia