Skip to content

Unlock The Past Cruise

September 20, 2011

Scottish & Irish Cruise 2011

I’m a bit excited at the moment, because I’ve decided to go on the   Unlock the Past History and Genealogy Cruise November 2011   This is a fourteen night cruise  from Auckland to Sydney, with a number of port stops in New Zealand.

While cruising there are a series of conferences on many and varied topics, with a Scottish and Irish theme. I’m especially interested in this, as these two areas of research are my weaknesses. I have much to learn and what better way to do it, than by cruising the Ocean.  I’m really looking forward to soaking up all the information I can.  And the opportunity to meet others with the same interest is just too good to pass up.

The ports of call after leaving Auckland are – Tauranga, Napier, Wellington, Picton, Akaroa, and Port Chalmers. Most of the stops are all day, so I’m planning on using the time to indulge myself in physical activities, such as walking, trailwalking and bike riding. I want to see as much of the New Zealand outdoors as I can.

This will be the first two week holiday, I’ve taken in years. A great opportunity to combine my two loves – family history and fitness. Oh and eating of course. I hear there’s a lot of that happening on a cruise.  Yum! Can’t wait!

5 Comments
  1. Jennifer,
    I hope you have a rewarding trip. I love cruising – unpack once – travel overnight – a new place each morning. Combined with genealogy it will be fantastic.

    Sorry I can’t go but I am heading off on …..another cruise with the family.

    • Yes, I’m sure it’s going to be great. A shame you can’t make it. I would have liked to have met you.
      But you will enjoy your cruise I’m sure.

    • Jill now that I’ve decided to go, I’m really looking forward to it. Counting down the days. Will be combining my two loves – genealogy and fitness. Couldn’t wish for a better holiday

  2. This is sooo tempting, but I really need to go to London next year to visit my daughter.

    • Shame you can’t make it Sharon. But you have a fantastic trip to look forward to also. Maybe aim for the next cruise in 2013. If all goes well on this cruise I’ll be there too.

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria