Skip to content

Family History Through The Alphabet Challenge: The Letter H

July 14, 2012

The lovely folk at   Gould Genealogy  have  issued a challenge to genealogists and family historians. Their idea is The ‘Family History Through the Alphabet’ Challenge   We will work our way through the alphabet, using one letter each week  and discuss anything relating to our family history starting with that letter. This week, being Week 8,  is the letter H

H is for Hope: Hope is something that all family history researchers know well. We research and record facts but we also live in hope.

I hope that I will one day find that small elusive clue that will break down that annoying brick wall and reveal what really happened at last.

I hope in this crazy busy life that I live, that I will find some quiet time to write every day. And also a few spare minutes to spend on research would be much appreciated.

I hope that a young person in my family or extended family will discover a passion for family history and take over where I leave off.

I hope that when I do leave this world, all my research doesn’t getting thrown into the skip bin.

And I hope often that my family will remain happy and healthy.

But these hopes are nothing, compared to the hopes that my ancestors must have felt, in the early 19th Century, when they made the decision to leave their families and friends behind and sail off  to Australia. A country so far away, and which they knew little about.  Hope must have been raging inside them for them to make that decision. They were probably hoping for a better life. A life without hardship, where they could be employed and support their families. I’m  sure they would have also been hoping for good health and happiness. They would have been hoping to live better lives than they were living in their country of birth.

And of course on the harrowing voyage to Australia they would have been hoping desperately to survive and reach their destination.

5 Comments
  1. And don’t we all live in hope, Jennifer?! I like the way you reflected on the hopes of our ancestors. Always food for thought there.

  2. Ahhh… what a beautiful post Jennifer. Reached into my insides and gave my heart a squeeze. The Hope my dad had, as a 16 year old boy when he arrived in 1928 alone, was that he’d make his fortune and take it back to his mum to make her life better. Thanks, Catherine.

  3. The hope, dreams and strength that our ancestors had must’ve been incredible. I’m not sure what made my Finnish great grandpa jump ship in Australia – since he had no family here, but presumably he had hopes for a great life here. Now my ‘hope’ is to find out more about his missing 7 years while at sea.

    • Sounds like there’s a great story hidden in there about those missing 7 years. Good luck. I hope you manage to find some answers

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Family History Through the Alphabet - H is for ... | Genealogy & History News

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia