Skip to content

2012 – Genealogical Goals & Resolutions

December 31, 2011

At  GeneaBloggers the question was asked on Open Thread Thursday – What Are Your Genealogy Goals and Resolutions for 2012?

The previous post about my accomplishments in 2011 has definitely helped me to get clear about my goals in 2012. So here they are listed below:

*  Get this blog looking more professional and tidy. Not really sure what needs to be done, but I need to spend some time on it. It’s been annoying me a bit this year.

*  Keep up to date with other bloggers more than I have this year. The few that I follow, I really enjoy, and learn a lot from,  but would like to extend that out to getting to know more bloggers

*  Get this office turned into a “den of genealogy”. Lots of tidying, organising and sorting to be done yet to achieve that aim

*  Coming to the end of the Certificate of Genealogy, I need to make a decision on whether to continue onto the Diploma of Family Historical Studies – all that is stopping me is fear of not having enough time

*  Scan all documents and get them organised – halfway there with this

*  Scan all photos and get them organised

*  Write article about my GG Grandfather and submit for publication

*  Write article about my uncles and submit for publication

*  Contribute member profile to Descent journal

*  Put together a zine-style magazine/photo book of paternal family line for my Dad

*  Join  Heathcote McIvor Historical Society

* Join Echuca – Moama Family History Group 

*  Join Highland Family History Society in Scotland

* Read all I can about Scottish history and research

*  Visit cemetaries at Shepparton, Ballarat, Echuca &  Heathcote to photograph and record grave sites

*  Research in 2012 will be mainly focused on my MORRISON family from Ross & Cromarty Scotland

*  Upload profile photos to Family Tree Maker

*  Learn more about Family Tree Maker 2012

*  Ensure that all sources in Family Tree Maker are clearly cited and uniform

*  Contribute every week to GeneaBloggers 52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy

*  Continue to support Genealogists for Families’ project  and Kiva and continue to encourage others to make a difference to the lives of less fortunate families

*  Keep in contact with family members who I have met recently through this blog

*  Continue to search for my brick-wall, the elusive JOHN Taylor from Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, WalesI know he’s out there somewhere waiting for me to stumble across him.

* Keep in contact with family who are living now, as they are more important than all of the above

This list will be on my notice board next to the computer. I’m looking forward to crossing each job off as it’s done. Hopefully this will keep me accountable and keep me focused on the tasks I should be doing.

I do tend to get sidetracked quite a bit.

4 Comments
  1. I’m not into printing things out but applaud your idea of printing out your goals and dislpaying them in a prominent place – if I did this perhaps then I could remember mine.

    I’ll be following your progress with interest – please keep blogging.

  2. A great list of goals. Our areas of family history appear to overlap – I have lots of ancestors from Heathcote and Echuca regions 🙂

    • That’s really interesting to hear. I’ve just had a look at your blog and I don’t think we have surnames in common in those areas. But I noticed you have Gilmore from Ireland. My GG Gfather was Alexander Gilmore/Gilmour from Ireland. But I’m not sure where he is from as I haven’t researched that line as yet. They settled around Ballarat/Sebastapol.

    • Oops, I also meant to say that I live fairly close to Heathcote and Echuca, so if there are any photos
      you need taken in the area, just let me know. Happy to do it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anne's Family History

An online research journal

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia