Skip to content

DNA

May 6, 2017

As many genealogists have done, I sent my DNA away to be tested about a year ago now. When the results came back, Ancestry told me that I had about 100 matches that were 4th cousins or closer and many more matches of 6th to 8th cousins.

I am very confused by DNA so I haven’t done much checking in to my results as yet. At the moment it’s in the ‘too hard basket’ waiting until I can attend a DNA seminar at a conference or get time to read up on it.

I didn’t even post here about my DNA which was very remiss of me. So here belatedly is my ethnicity report from Ancestry.

The ethnicity report shows where your ancestors came from hundred to thousands of years ago. Below are my ethnicity percentages for each of the above regions.


Ireland 40% : includes Ireland, Wales and Scotland

Europe West 32%: includes Belgium, France, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein

Great Britain 18%: includes England, Scotland and Wales

Scandinavia 9%: includes Sweden, Norway, Denmark

The genetic communities report show where your family probably lived in the past few hundred years.


In the near future I will follow up my DNA matches and report back about any interesting connections.

 

 

ancestry.com.au

 

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Very interesting. I’ve been considering doing this myself.

    • I’m sure it is worthwhile doing Kim. I just haven’t got it sorted out yet

      • That’s been my biggest concern, whether it’s worthwhile. Judging by your results it looks interesting. Like yourself though, it would probably take me a bit to get my head around it. Thanks for your honest opinion though, Jennifer. 🙂

  2. Sorry to hear that Luanne

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria