Skip to content

April A-Z Challenge – I is for Ann Izzard

April 12, 2017

The Blogging from A to Z April Challenge is a challenge put out to bloggers to publish a post from A-Z every day in April, except for Sundays. April 1 is A, and so on throughout the month. Bloggers can post randomly or on a theme. The theme I have chosen is ‘My Ancestors’. I used this same theme for the Blogging from A-Z April Challenge in 2015. This time the ancestors posted about will mostly be more distant members of the family. Hopefully, when combined this will form a full picture of my family history.

ANN IZZARD  was my great great grandmother on my maternal side of WATERS. Ann was born in 1806 at Guilden Morden, Cambridgeshire, England. Her parents were SAMUEL IZZARD and CHARLOTTE THURLEY.

Ann married my great great grandfather THOMAS WATERS, on 4 September 1824 at Dunton, Bedfordshire, England.  Thomas was a farmer, mainly growing vegetables,  after the purchase of a 173 acre  farm ‘Newtonbury’ at Dunton.

Thomas and Ann had nine children:

William born 1824
Edith born 1825
Elizabeth born 1828
Thomas born 1829
David born 1832
John born 1835
George born 1838
Mary born 1840
Annie born 1843

Anne Izzard died, age 46,  on 16 October 1851 at Dunton, Bedfordshire and was buried at Dunton cemetery, Bedfordshire.

 

4 Comments
  1. Well, what do you know. My great-grandmother’s second marriage was to a George Izzard!

    • This is interesting Jill. I haven’t come across George yet, but will definitely be in touch if I do. Really haven’t done much research on that line yet.

  2. I was very interested in this post, as my 9th great-grandmother was Ann Izard, married to Michael Fulgham. My 8th great-grandmother, Sarah Fulgham, 1685–1741, was from Isle of Wight County, Virginia.

    I was hoping that you might be able to shed some light on my Izard family, as I do not know any sourced details (I do have some speculations) about Ann Izard or her parents.

    • I would love to help you out but as yet I haven’t done any research on the Izzard family beyond Ann’s parents Samuel Izzard and Charlotte Thurley. They were in Bedfordshire England in the 1800’s. I suspect your family may not belong to my Izzard’s but I will keep your contact details and be in touch if I find a US connection. Thanks for contacting me.

Leave a Reply

