Skip to content

Patrick Boyle – Violet Town

March 16, 2017

The following post is a reblog of a post I wrote in 2015 to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day. Patrick Boyle is my favourite Irish ancestor.

Reblog: Today, I thought, in honour of St. Patricks Day, I would mention one of my Irish Ancestors.

The Boyle family are the first that come to mind.

BOYLE: PATRICK BOYLE arrived in Melbourne from Ireland on “The Pomona”  in 1857.  Also travelling with him were his wife MARGARET McCLINTOCK and daughters, Ellen, Annie and Margaret. They quickly settled in Violet Town, where Patrick became a successful farmer, on the banks of the Honeysuckle Creek.  Margaret died in 1862, just 5 years after their arrival. Patrick remarried in 1866 to Maria Chute. They had 4 daughters and 3 sons – Hanora, James, Thomas, Theresa, Francis, Maria and Catherine. Patrick died in 1891 in Violet Town and is buried in a large family plot with both wives and his daughter Ellen who  predeceased him.

014

Patrick’s daughter Ellen was murdered by her husband, RICHARD CHUTE, in 1871. She was a young mother with two children, the youngest just a few days old. You can read more about her tragic story here

*addition to reblogged post: RICHARD CHUTE, who murdered Patrick Boyle’s daughter Ellen, was the brother of Patrick’s second wife.

Save

From → family history

5 Comments
  1. Happy St. Patrick’s day Jennifer. An interesting family story there.

  2. Hi Jennifer,
    I can claim the oldest Chute boy as part of my family too! – but only by marriage. John Francis Chute married Edith Sophia Moore. Edith was the youngest child of John Moore and Elizabeth Mary Clark. It’s complicated but John Moore’s brother William was my GGgrandfather and Elizabeth Mary Clark’s sister Alice Rebecca was my GGgrandmother – two brothers married two sisters. I have ordered the marriage cert of John Chute and Edith Moore and will let you know when it arrives. Thanks for telling this story. I had no idea what a terrible beginning these children had.

    • Jen that is amazing! For years I have promised myself that one day I would do more research on those children. I wondered who cared for John. I thought perhaps my great grandmother Mary Jones (nee Calnan) took him on. She was Ellen Boyles cousin, and lived nearby. She was on the scene soon after the murder. She had her own family at the time of the murder. As for the baby who was unnamed. I think he was sent to the industrial school as their was an entry for a ‘baby chute’, about 2 weeks after the murder. I haven’t looked at this record yet. There is much more to this story, but I don’t want to overload you on a branch that you may not be that interested in. Let me know and I can send you what I have. I’d be very interested to hear of the details on John’s marriage certificate. I do wonder that he ended up in Wagga.

  3. You actually solved a problem for me Jennifer as I had no details on John Francis Chute’s birth family. I will send you what I have.

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria