Skip to content

Louden Research

January 3, 2017

Recently, I have been contacted through the blog, by two cousins on my LOUDEN family line.The contact was made just before Christmas, when life was a bit hectic, so we agreed to catch up again in January to hopefully organise a meetup.

So far, I’ve done very little research on the LOUDEN line, intending to get to it one day.  One day never seems to come. But since these contacts were made, I’ve been keen to begin researching this line, as I have a feeling the Louden family could be quite interesting.

My great grandmother was Hilda Mary Beatrice GILMOUR and her mother was Jane LOUDEN, third child of Andrew LOUDEN and Elizabeth ANDERSON, migrated to Australia from Scotland.

Jane LOUDEN  married Alexander GILMOUR in 1880 at Ballarat. Both the GILMOUR and LOUDEN families were in Ballarat at the time of the goldrush. Ballarat isn’t too far for me to go for research, which is an added bonus.

As a child, I can remember my great grandmother Hilda Mary Beatrice GILMOUR who passed away in 1967, when I was a teenager. My memories add an extra interest to researching this line.

The above photo is of my great great grandmother Jane LOUDEN. Apologies for the quality of this very old photo.

louden-jane-improved-copyThanks to blogger friend Chris Goopy, who kindly improved this very faded photo for me. You can check out Chris’ blog here

Save

Save

Save

Save

3 Comments
  1. Great photo…
    I have included your blog in Interesting Blogs at Friday Fossicking at

    http://thatmomentintime-crissouli.blogspot.com.au/2017/01/friday-fossicking-jan-6th-2017.html

    Thank you, Chris

Leave a Reply

