Skip to content

Accentuate The Positive Geneameme

January 1, 2017

GeniAus  has put out an invitation to bloggers, in the form of a geneameme, to reflect on our year in genealogy, and celebrate our successes. I cannot resist a geneamme so I hope you enjoy reading about my year.

1.  An elusive ancestor I found was my great great great grandfather, JOHN TAYLOR. I have been looking for evidence of his birth, with no luck, for many many years. . I was fairly sure he would have been born in Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales as his children were born there, and he died there. A few years ago, I ordered the LDS records but found nothing. Just a few months ago, I was mindlessly searching  on FamilySearch.and found him there on the record that I had looked at previously. I can only presume, that I missed it due to misinterpreting the handwriting. That was a very happy day!

2.  A precious family photo I found was very recently, when my elderly aunt appeared with a Facebook page. She uploaded many fantastic family photos of aunts, uncles and cousins, that I had never seen previously.

3.  A newly found family member shared information about his line of the family which has really helped with my research. It is always a good idea to research siblings, and I usually do try to do it, but in this case I hadn’t yet started with his line. So his information was valuable.

4.  A geneasurprise I received was the many cousins who contacted me in 2016, through this blog. I have been contacted by cousins from many different lines this year. Plans are being made to meet up with the researchers of  my LOUDEN line in Januarry.

5.   My 2016 blog post that I was particularly proud of was about my great grandfather Ernest Welfare Waters . I had cousins contact me from that post and it was read many times. I also think he was a very interesting person to blog about, as I knew him well as a teenager, and have done quite a bit of research into his life.

6.   I made a new genimate who …. Actually I made many new genimates who are genealogy bloggers, when I attended the Rootstech conference in Salt Lake City.

7. A social media tool I enjoyed using for genealogy was Facebook. I have enjoyed finding the many new genealogy groups that are constantly starting up. I have also created a Facebook group for one of my family lines, which is now growing to include many family members, both known to me, and unknown.

8. A genealogy conference/seminar/webinar from which I learnt something new was of course RootsTech, worldwide genealogy conference, held in Salt Lake City in February, which I was so fortunate to attend.  I learnt so much that was new about both genealogy and technology related to genealogy.

9. I taught a friend how to begin searching her family history. I taught her the basics, of starting with herself and working backwards. She was very excited at the possibilities open to her, when we spent an hour together on Trove.

10. A great repository/archive/library I visited was the FamilySearch Library in Salt Lake City. Unfortunately, I wasn’t there long enough to be able to do research there. But just to enter the library and wander around and see what was available was amazing. I felt like a child in a chocolate factory and hope to spend time there researching next time I attend Rootstech – hopefully in 2018.

11. A new genealogy/history book I enjoyed was Welsh Family History 2nd edition, A Guide to Research, edited by John and Sheila Rowlands. This edition is a few years old now, so there were some things that I needed to overlook, however the book, gave me a great overview of Welsh history and research tools.

12. It was exciting to finally meet Pat, very well known and much loved genie blogger and educator  of DearMYRTLE blog, who I met at Rootstech. She was kind enough to open her home to the geneabloggers for a very relaxing get together at the end of the conference. On meeting her, I found she was as inspirational and kind as she appears on her blog, and in her many classes and tutorials. I am looking forward to joining in with many more of her classes in 2017.

13. A geneadventure I enjoyed was, of course attending Rootstech. This was the highlight of my year and I really hope to be able to attend again in 2018.

14. Another positive I would like to share is that I have realised, that I have a huge amount of wonderful family photos, from many of my family lines. During 2017, I will be storing them digitally and labelling them clearly.

Save

From → genealogy

7 Comments
  1. Rae Alexander permalink

    My ancestors also came from Haverford West, Pembrokeshire, Wales. Family name of REES which can be traced back to mid 1700’s. They came out to Australia as free immigrants in 1844.

    • Rae I’ve come across the REES name many times in my research. I have a feeling there is a connection. If you come across TAYLORs or LLOYDS in your research, I’d appreciate if you could let me knows good to hear from you. Jen

    • Rae would you mind sending me your email. Would like to be able to keep in touch. Either post it here or email me jenniferalison.jones@gmail.com

  2. In spite of physical setbacks you had a beaut year, Jennifer. So pleased you enjoyed Rootstech.

  3. I can relate to your comment about John TAYLOR (‘found him there on the record that I had looked at previously’). I once missed an entry in the National Probate Calendar (England and Wales), but found it when I looked again the next day. That was on a trip to the UK, long before the Internet was invented. I learned two important things that day: (1) always repeat searches that have negative results, and (2) don’t search when you’re very tired!

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria