Skip to content

Perservering Welshwomen

May 10, 2016

from The Maitland Daily Mercury, 30 January 1914

The women of Haverfordwest – worthy descendants of those brave Pembrokeshire women. Women who used their red cloaks with such success in repelling the attempted French invasion at Fishguard in 1797 – are once more banded together in the public service.

Last week (says the “British Weekly” of Dec 25) a band of 10 got together on an almost impossible road leading from Hook to Haverfordwest, the highway over which the women have to struggle on market days.

Despairing of getting the Pembrokeshire County Council to do the necessary work, by any other means, they decided to effect temporary repairs themselves, and thus shame the public authorities into action.

 

Being of Welsh ancestry, this article made me think of my female Welsh ancestors. I’m sure my great great grandmother MARTHA LLOYD was a very determined and perservering woman.

With her husband JOHN TAYLOR and two sons, one a toddler, the other an infant, she made the journey to Australia to give her family a better life. I’m sure that took great sacrifice and perseverance. And I thank her for her sacrifice which gave me the comfortable life I have today.

My great great grandmother is NOT in the photo above. This is a photo of Welsh women that I came across in Issue 25 of Tracing Your Family History Magazine. There were no names given to the ladies, but they definitely look to me like very strong, determined and persevering women.

From → Pembrokeshire

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

