Skip to content

A-Z Challenge: Z for Zoo

April 30, 2016

img_7515-1

I am back again for the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge so have made the commitment to blog every day in April except the Sundays. Some bloggers choose a theme, and others do random posts. For me, a theme works better, so them I’ve chosen for 2016 is Towns in Victoria. I will be choosing  towns with a relevance to my family history, where possible.

 

Z

Z is for Zoo. Zoo? I hear you ask, surely Zoo cannot be a town?  You are correct. Zoo is not a town. There is no town in Victoria that starts with the letter ‘Z’, so I have had to get creative. I say that Z is for the Melbourne Zoological Gardens. 

The Melbourne Zoo, is almost as large as a small town, probably larger than some. Also, a visit to Melbourne would not be complete without a visit to the Melbourne Zoo – for both adult and child.

The Zoo is situated just 4 kilometres from the CBD and very close to many hotels. It is accessible from the city by train or tram as well as on the walking/cycle path. There is plenty of car parking space for car drivers.

Opening in 1862, and modelled on The London Zoo, Melbourne Zoo is Australia’s oldest. Originally the zoo, was used to acclimatise animals that arrived after a long ship voyage to Australia.  In 1870, exotic animals started to arrive for public display in the zoo.

The zoo has been upgraded many times, from a zoo that kept animals in small cages, which was the norm for their time until today where the animals are in large fields and almost look to be free range. Those old cages have been heritage listed, so they still  stand today, but are not used at all.

The Melbourne Zoo is set in a beautiful garden setting, with many flower beds and picnic grounds available.

garden

photo.heraldsun.com.au

The Zoo is administered by the Zoological Board of Victoria with generous donations and bequests from the public being accepted.

Some of the animals in the zoo are elephants, monkeys of all types, giraffes, birds, reptiles – just to name a few.

koala

photo: visitvictoria.com.au

tiger

photo: visitvictoria.com.au

So that is it for April A-Z2016. Please forgive me for my Z choice.

 

 

 

Image result for photos of melbourne zoo

photo: travelonline.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments
  1. Congrats on finishing your A2Z! I didnt go to the zoo when I was in Melbourne, but I went to a zoo-like place in the Dandenongs. Of course I was more interested in native Australia fauna and flora 🙂 Loved seeing koalas in the gum trees at Hanging Rock!

    Really enjoyed your trip through Victoria. Have a nice year 🙂

  2. You’ve done a great job promoting your State Jennifer. Congratulations on completing the challenge.

  3. I was there just last weekend and had fun photographing animals. I especially enjoyed the butterfly house. I didn’t go to some of my most loved animals because I can see them at Australia Zoo (which I was prepared to hate) because it’s less crowded.

  4. Congratulations on finishing the challenge. I may not have been commenting regularly but I have been reading as I know most of the places that you have mentioned. Well Done! I enjoyed your posts!

  5. Congratulations on finishing the challenge. I loved the zoo for the botanical part in particular. A regular visitor when we lived in Melbourne. Also the butterfly house and koalas are great for visitors.

Leave a Reply

