Skip to content

A-Z Challenge: Y for Yarrawonga

April 29, 2016

img_7515-1

I am back again for the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge so have made the commitment to blog every day in April except the Sundays. Some bloggers choose a theme, and others do random posts. For me, a theme works better, so them I’ve chosen for 2016 is Towns in Victoria. I will be choosing  towns with a relevance to my family history, where possible.

Y.jpg

Y is for Yarrawonga, situated on the Victorian side of the Murray River.

Yarrawonga is very relevant to my family history, as my TAYLOR family spent many years in the Yarrawonga and nearby Bundalong area.

There is a long bridge joining Yarrawonga to Mulwala, on the NSW side of the river. The bridge has a dip and a bend in the middle which was caused by Victorian and NSW mis-communications. As the bridge was being built, starting from both sides, it was soon realised that it wouldn’t meet in the middle.

yarrawonga bridge

photo: tourisminternet.com.au

There is also the original stock bridge, of just a single lane, which crosses over the weir, into NSW.

Below is information about Yarrawonga that appeared in the Australian Handbook in 1903.

yarrawonga.gif

image: shawfactor.com

Today Yarrawonga is a popular tourist destination with very mild climate and Lake Mulwala as the major attraction. Water skiing, sailing, canoeing, swimming, fishing and cruising are popular activities on Lake Mulwala which is just a short walk from the town centre.

Image result for photo yarrawonga

photo: victorianplaces.com.au

There are lovely picnic grounds around the lake, and being so close to town, are usually packed on a sunny day.

Yarrawonga 1

photo: travelvictoria.com.au

Yarrawonga is promoted by the tourism authority as an “Inland Aquatic Paradise”. Along with the lake, there are many beaches along the Murray River. Campsites during holiday periods are usually snapped up quickly.

 

Yarrawonga 2

photo: travelvictoria

sources: wikipedia; travelvictoria.com.au

 

 

3 Comments
  1. It’s all your fault Jennifer. I have a song in my head and it won’t go away : I’m going back again to Yarrawonga… http://alldownunder.com/australian-music-songs/back-to-yarrawonga.htm

  2. There’s a Yarrawonga suburb in Darwin/Palmerston too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Haverfordwest History

One Place Study

Retirement Reflections

What I Wish I Knew Before I Retired

The Chocolate Lady's Book Review Blog

For mostly adult, literary, fiction; focusing on historical, contemporary, biographical, and women.

And Anyways...

Author, Baker, Sunrise Chaser

Kerryn's Kin

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Over 60 and living my best life

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Family history from the Western District of Victoria, Australia