Skip to content

April A-Z Challenge: G is for Greta

April 8, 2016

img_7515-1

I am back again for the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge so have made the commitment to blog every day in April except the Sundays. Some bloggers choose a theme, and others do random posts. For me, a theme works better, so them I’ve chosen for 2016 is Towns in Victoria. I will be choosing  towns with a relevance to my family history, where possible.

G

G is for Greta, an area in northern Victoria, near Benalla. At the last census, the combined area of Greta and Greta West had a population of 250.

During the goldrush in Beechworth, all roads to the diggings area, went through Greta. After the goldrush was over, the land in the area was subdivided and sold for farming and growing crops.

The main claim to fame, historically for Greta, is that it was home to bushranger, Ned Kelly. I had family living in that area at the time, and Ned Kelly actually appears on my family tree. In a very distant way of course.

The Ned Kelly legend has brought many tourist to the area to follow the The Ned Kelly Trail

Greta ruin1.JPG

The ruins of Ned Kelly’s home at Greta. These ruins still stand today.

Unmarked graves of Dan and Ellen Kelly in the Greta Cemetery

Image result for image greta victoria

Image result for image greta victoria

Description of Greta in The Australian Handbook 1903 (thanks to Victorianplaces.com.au)

10 Comments
  1. Greta is incredibly beautiful. Glad to stumble on your blog:)

  2. This a theme that I enjoy – to learn about other parts of the world.

  3. Interesting post and beautifully enhanced by the photos. The picture of the cemetery and the old town description add so much. Good luck with the A to Z Challenge.

    Molly of Molly’s Canopy
    http://mollyscanopy.com/

  4. Related to Ned Kelly – wow, even if distantly.
    Do you know of Angus B Watson’s book “Lost & almost forgotten towns of Colonial Victoria”?
    It says about Greta that the original township that was surveyed in 1854 is now known as Greta West. But then there seems to have been all sorts of moving post offices, renaming schools … Watson gives census results by township too. Greta had only 91 people in 1901 living in 15 dwellings.
    Regards
    Anne

  5. What a lovely theme you’ve chosen for the challenge and I’m delighted to have made my way here for this peek into your history.

  6. I never heard of Ned Kelly before following your link. He sounds like quite a man! Finding Eliza

  7. Ooh thanks for this account. Ovens rings a bell for me but I’m not sure why…hopefully it will come back to me eventually. I’m not very familiar with Victorian geography so this is very helpful.

  8. I love the contrast between the starkness of the old photos and the lushness of today’s. I’m not really a fan of Ned Kelly but it would be interesting to have him on the family tree.

Leave a Reply

