Skip to content

A-Z Challenge: D is for Diamond Creek

April 5, 2016

img_7515-1

D

I am back again for the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge so have made the commitment to blog every day in April except the Sundays. Some bloggers choose a theme, and others do random posts. For me, a theme works better, so them I’ve chosen for 2016 is Towns in Victoria. I will be choosing  towns with a relevance to my family history, where possible.

D is for Diamond Creek, a small township located in the Diamond Valley on the outskirts of Melbourne. This is an area that is relevant to my family history as my great great grandparents JOHN TAYLOR and MARTHA LLOYD settled there,  after their arrival in Australia from Wales in 1841. On arrival JOHN TAYLOR worked as a shepherd and later  as a labourer.

They stayed in the area for many years and raised a large family.

Diamond Creek boomed in the early days due to the discovery of gold in 1863.

The population today is about 11.,500. Diamond Creek again is booming as it is now considered to be a Melbourne suburb. The number of houses being built has increased in recent years.

Diamond Creek is located in Melbourne

Early View of Diamond Creek

Miners sluicing for gold

Diamond Creek State School

Sources: Wikipaedia and photos from: Nillumbik Historical Society.

9 Comments
  1. Those are awesome photos. So many small towns seem to be swept up in suburban sprawl.
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

  2. I particularly like the photo of the gold miners.
    Visiting from AtoZ
    Wendy at Jollett Etc.

  3. It would have been a wild journey in the 1840’s. lovely that you have such an historic connection to it. Hard to believe it’s more suburb than town now…
    Reflex Reactions

  4. I enjoyed my visit to Diamond Creek – thank you

  5. What a great theme! I have kin on my father’s side who settled in Ten Sleeps, Wyoming or Montana, cannot recall at the moment, but it seemed a great place for sheep.

  6. Don’t you just love those kids in their sparkling white pinnies? Gold mining looks like hard, dirty work…my bloke just sold them meat 😉

    @cassmob from
    Family History Across The Seas

  7. This is such a goid idea for a theme. I am very impressed. It’s so useful for people like me who mightn’t be as au fait with place names in other states like me.

Leave a Reply

