Skip to content

April A-Z Challenge – A is for Axedale

April 1, 2016

 

I am back again for the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge so have made the commitment to blog every day in April except the Sundays. Some bloggers choose a Theme, and others do random posts. For me, a theme works better, so them I’ve chosen for 2016 is Towns in Victoria. I will be choosing  towns with a relevance to my family history, where possible.

A

A is for Axedale, the small township where I live. Axedale is in central Victoria, about 20 kilometres east of Bendigo. I have only lived there for about 18 months, but fell in love with it immediately.

There is a population of 571 people. Even though Axedale has a tiny population, it has huge community spirit and participation.

The Axedale Rail Trail runs through Axedale. This is a popular route for cyclists and walkers, which brings visitors to our area.

Axedale is situated on the Campaspe River. In the days of the 19th century gold rush it was a busy thoroughfare from the goldfields of Bendigo through to the goldfields of Heathcote.

 

IMG_3277

The Campaspe River which runs through Axedale.

IMG_3275

The Platypus compass which refers to platypus that can be found in the Campaspe River

1676

Beautiful spot for a picnic

 

 

 

Due to my interest in genealogy, family history and history, I have a One Place Study on  Axedale called Axedale – Then and Now

My  other blog Next Phase In Fitness & Life is also participating in the Blogging A-Z Challenge. I would love you to follow along.

From → Uncategorized

45 Comments
  1. Very nice post and lovely photos. I am blogging on genealogy, too. Ancestors: A to Z for the Challenge. Stop by…if it’s not too hectic writing! Good luck.

  2. Hello Jones,

    Looks to be a wonderful spot for picnic. Will check out more on your blog.

    I am taking on #ATOZChallenge on my positive psychology blog and here is my post. Appreciate if you can visit and check out.
    Consumer Psyche: A for Ask http://www.consumerpsyche.com/2016/04/a-for-ask.html?spref=tw

  3. This is so nice.. a quaint town..

  4. Hi from a fellow Aussie – I’m in WA so will check out the Eastern States on your blog 🙂 Leanne from http://www.crestingthehill.com.au

  5. sizzlesue15 permalink

    Hi Jennifer – another Aussie! I’m from Brisbane. I love discovering new little places in our great country so I was pleasantly surprised to find your blog. Looking forward to the next episode! Sue @Sizzling60 from
    Sizzling Towards Sixty

  6. very soothing pictures… It is great to know about places which are not commonly known.. thanks for informative blog post.

  7. Visiting you from upstate New York. Visiting Australia has been a lifelong dream for me (still unfufilled at age 63); I look forward to more of your posts.

  8. Visiting Australia is on the bucket list in this household….look forward to seeing where we could go someday 🙂
    Stephanie Finnell from
    @Randallbychance
    Katy Trail Creations
    Stephanies Stuff

  9. Very Nice Post…

    Welcome in the letter “A”… thank you!
    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2016]

    Stop over and find a free “SIX STRINGS: BLOGGING AtoZ CHALLENGE” Here: http://www.jmhdigital.com/

    HOLLYWOOD NUTS!
    You know you want to know if me or Hollywood… is Nuts?

  10. A lovely post, and photographs. All the best for the remaining month.

  11. Such an interesting post! I’m interested in genealogy but haven’t done much researching. Lovely photos! Axedale looks and sounds like a beautiful place to live.

  12. Rajlakshmi permalink

    Looks like a beautiful and quite location. Lovely 🙂

    Visiting from A to Z Challenge
    Pam’s Unconventional Alliance Team
    A Whimsical Medley
    Twinkle Eyed Traveller

  13. Great post! I look forward to learning more about these cities! Katy from http://thekatyblog.com/.

  14. emilia m. permalink

    thank you for bringing closer such a distant (physically 😉 ) place! 🙂

  15. How interesting to trace your family history through towns….Look forward to seeing Australia this way.

    BellyBytes from
    Mumbai On A High

  16. It’s always fun to find A to Z Challenge themes featuring a place. Your home town looks lovely and sounds very peaceful.

    Robin Rivera
    From WriteOnSisters

  17. Looks like a lovely place to visit. Good luck for the A to Z challenge.

  18. Seems like a very nice place to live.

  19. Sinziana Romanescu permalink

    Great theme for this month challenge! I am sure your posts will be wonderful!

    Sinziana from
    Sparkling Shoes Girl

  20. I’m visiting from the A-Z signup page. I closed my eyes and scrolled down and randomly clicked on your blog! I’m so glad I found you! I have a special place in my heart for Australia as my mom grew up there. I look forward to learning more about towns in your area!

    [@NikisSimpleLife] from
    <a href="https://therichnessofasimplelife.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/a-autobiography-of-an-emotion/
    May 2016 Kindness Challenge
    Connect on Facebook
    Connect on Twitter

  21. Loved the photographs.

  22. Beautiful pictures! Good luck on the challenge! We’re doing “I’ve Got The Music In Me” this year on The Road We’ve Shared. – looking at how important music is in the Down syndrome community. I hope you’ll stop by and see/hear! http://theroadweveshared.com/category/a-to-z-blogging-challenge-2016

  23. Thanks for the quick tour of Axedale. The pictures are great.
    http://www.MerrieHansen.com

  24. What a lovely place. It looks a little like my area, Altoona, Florida. So much history packeked into these small towns 🙂 Great post!
    Gladiator’s Pen

  25. I grew up in a small town too – loved reading about yours… thank you!

    My Genealogy Challenges

  26. I’m looking forward to seeing the town you pick around Vic. It’s years since I stayed in country Victoria. Always enjoyed myself. Fran

  27. Now I can sit and visit Australia through your blog.

  28. Wow! Less than 600 people! I’m so curious about life there now. Is it close to other, more populated places or is this the biggest place within a small vicinity? (Or do I have to wait for B to find out?) since it was busy during the gold rush are there a lot of abandoned buildings or is it just a regular small town?

  29. Sounds like a lovely town!

  30. Sweety (Kokiash2015) permalink

    Wow ! what a write up about axedale tiny town .With lot amazing pics beautifying it .

  31. It sounds like a lovely place to live! I live in a small village in the UK with a similar size population but also a fantastic community spirit!xx #AtoZChallenge

  32. Looking forward to this! I have always wanted to go to Australia!

    signsofdisneyworld.wordpress.com

  33. I look forward to following your posts! I hope to come away with some new places to visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria