Skip to content

Rootstech 2016 Day 4

February 7, 2016

Day 4……the last day. I woke early today feeling a bit sad, that the last day had arrived. I determined, as I walked to the Salt Palace conference centre, for the last day, that I would be really present to the day, and soak up as much information as I could. The classes I did today were relevant to my research and really worthwhile for me.

The Keynote presenter today was Pulitzer Prize winning author and Presidential biographer, Doris Kearns Goodwin. I sat there for the entire address, absolutely enthralled as she spoke of her family history, and her experiences as she  spent time with and wrote about the former Presidents of America.

image

Words that come to mind to describe this address are:

enthralling – engrossing – gobsmacked – speechless – teary – funny – touching

awe-inspiring – Wow!

I was so engrossed in what Doris was saying that when it was over, I realised I hadn’t done any tweeting about the session as I would ususally do. I sat there on the edge of my seat just soaking up her words. Sign of an excellent address I would say.

I’m really looking forward to reading her book about Abraham Lincoln, when I get back home to Australia.

image

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

