Skip to content

RootsTech 2016 Day 1

February 4, 2016

image

Woke very excited today, keen to get to the Salt Palace for Day 1 RootsTech. We arrived very late last night to a cold, snowy Salt Lake City. My hotel is just across the road from the Conference Centre so there was no need to shuffle too far in the snow, although I was hit with an icy blast as I stepped outside. The snow was quite thick on the sides of the road and in the public spaces.

Snow SLC

Day 1 was for registration, checking out the layout of the Salt Lake Palace which is huge. There was much excitement and catching up with friends. We received a program and carry bag filled with advertising of the traders in the Expo Hall.

Reg Kit (2)

Just two sessions for me to attend today:

Mind mapping Genealogy Research Plans and Results: Thomas MacEntee

The first session of the conference was about planning a genealogy strategy in a different way. Using mind mapping to help create an effective research plan as well as helping to make connections in the data, once the research is completed. This is aprocess of creating a diagram of flow chart of ideas and concepts. We were shown automated mind mapping tools that would enable us to read our research data in a different way.

I have done mind mapping on a white board, many times over the years but never with a computer program.

I’m sure the skills learned in this session will be invaluable for breaking down some of those pesky brick walls. As I was listening, I found myself noting down the areas where mindmapping could be beneficial to my research

Using technology to ‘see’ research more clearly: Presenter Peg Evanyo:

This session explored how spreadsheets, mind maps and timelines can help to see our research, and gaps in our research, more clearly. There was a crossover between this session and the previous session. However, the information was presented with a slight difference.

I was really interested to learn more about using spreadsheets in genealogy. I know I should have been using them by now, but spreadsheets terrify me a bit, so I tend to steer clear of them.

Day 1 was very relaxed with plenty of time for registration and getting organised. Tomorrow the conference gets into full swing with a full day of sessions and the opening of the Expo Hall. I had a couple of sneak peeks while it was being set up today, and can’t wait to get in there to check out the traders.

 

 

 

2 Comments
  1. Rae Alexander permalink

    Could you please advise the Computer program for mindmapping Genealogy, as well as information/example about the Spread Sheets. These seem great ideas but I’m not sure how to do either. With thanks

Leave a Reply

