Skip to content

John Taylor Pembrokeshire Wales.

November 16, 2015

Much excitement here! Looks like one of my genealogy brickwalls has cracked and could be about to fall down! Nothing is proven yet, but so far, a new piece of information is looking as though it could solve my problems.

For years I have been searching for information in Wales regarding my 3rd Great Grandfather JOHN TAYLOR. His son, also JOHN TAYLOR, left Wales with his family, bound for Australia in 1841. I have built a huge tree including many family stories, around this family, excepting for the elusive John Taylor, senior.

On the weekend, I was doing some mindless researching – with no point or goal in mind at all really – as I sometimes do. For years, I have searched many sites, many times looking for John Taylor Snr, with no results. But yesterday, I came across the information below on  FamilySearch

Name: John Taylor
Event Type: Burial
Event Date: 17 Oct 1819
Event Place: Slebech, Pembrokeshire, Wales
Age: 35
Birth Year (Estimated): 1784
Spouse’s Name:
GS Film Number:
Digital Folder Number: 004210021

Citing this Record:
“Wales, Pembrokeshire, Parish Registers, 1538-1912,” database, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:KCBG-R5P : accessed 16 November 2015), John Taylor, 17 Oct 1819, Burial; from “Parish Records Collection 1538-2005,” database and images, findmypast (http://www.findmypast.com : 2012); citing Slebech, Pembrokeshire, Wales, Welsh Archive Series.

This entry doesn’t actually confirm it is my John Taylor, but all the information fits. His children were born in Slebech, and I have him placed there up to 1811. But it’s a sliver of information, that with more research, I think will probably prove correct and could lead to further family information.

From → genealogy

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

