Skip to content

Another Kiva Microloan

September 23, 2015

I have posted  here  previously about Kiva Micro loans and my ongoing commitment to continuing to make them. Yesterday I received an email that some of my loans have been paid back and I now have $50 credit, which is enough to make another two loans.

It always takes me ages to decide who to donate to, as there are so many who are worthy of donations. Just to make it easier, I choose women, for no reason really, other than it halves the time of searching. This time, I have chosen the industries of education and food.

Firstly I chose  Anahit from Armenia (below), a widow with 2 sons from Armenia.  Anahit needs the loan to heat the room where she tutors and prepares students for exams. She has a good record of repayment.  This is also my first loan in the education sector.

Anahit

My second loan goes to  Teresa from Philippines  (below) who needs help to buy fishing equipment and to get repairs done to her boat. Teresa is 45 with three school children, and seems to be a hard worker. She also has an excellent repayment record.

Teresa

 

My day is always special when I get to make another Kiva loan. It’s such a small thing for me to do, but with big results. Each loan costs $25, but my loans are all coming from the original $100 I put up in 2011. As each loan is paid back, the money is then re-loaned.

So far, I feel very proud that I have made 18 loans to borrowers in many countries – Armenia, Phillipines, Kenya, Tajikistan, Honduras, El Salvador, Jordan, Bolivia, Iraq, Kenya, Peru, Ecuador, Togo. These loans have made a big difference to people in struggling countries and economies, who are trying to support themselves.

My loans have all been made in the Genealogists for Families team, who have 309 members and have made 6064 loans at value of $160,000. I was involved with this team from the start and am constantly amazed at how successful we have been and the compassion showed by genealogists and their families and friends. If you would like to join our team and make a difference, click HERE

You can sign up and donate as an individual or join a team. We’d love to have you on our Genealogists for Families Team.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria