Skip to content

Geneabloggers Do-Over – Week 1

July 11, 2015

Screenshot_2015-07-05-00-48-17~2-1

I have decided to participate in The Genealogy Do-Over, organised by  Thomas McEntee of Geneabloggers, This 12 week project has come along at exactly the right time for me. I have been thinking of how messy and disorganised my research materials and results have become, mainly due to the spasmodic and casual way I have approached my family history in recent years. It’s been doing my head in trying to decide where to start.

Below are the topics for Week 1:

1.   Setting previous research aside

This wasn’t really overly difficult as I recently moved and most of my genealogy papers are still packed away in storage. But the papers I do have with me are in a big disorganised mess, so the first job was to get them packed away into a big box. Just for now! It seems strange having all my precious documents  packed away out of sight, but I have committed to do the do-over whole heartedly. So in that box they will stay.

2. Preparing to research

It might seem a bit strange to make preparations before beginning research. But I’m hoping this will make a difference to the quality of research getting done. For me, in recent years, its usually 5 minutes here and 10 minutes there, whatever piece of time I can grab, and lately, all with very little focus.

My work area has now been tidied. The desk is clear and organised. Shelves have been re-arranged ready for the colour coded folders which I will get sorted this weekend. I’m surprised at the transformation,  The  work area is now calling me to get started. Previously, I felt in a bit of a muddle, and couldn’t really see my way clear to get started.

I have printed out Thomas McEntee’s research logs, templates etc and have them in a folder within easy access. At the moment, I’m using a laptop until my new computer arrives. I havee ordered a hard drive to back up my precious files. I have also puchased this week, a Flip-Pal Mobile Scanner, from Gould Genealogy, so need to get it set up, ready to use.

I am planning on using Evernote to store files and photos etc  and have downloaded it to my Ipad. Will put it on to the desktop of new  computer.

Put current digital files into a “do-over holding folder” – out of sight is out of mind

I need to update Family Tree Maker, so will get that done this weekend

3.  Establishing base practices and guidelines

Track all work, keeping a research log, to avoid duplication, as so often happens, wasting valuable time.

Prove all evidence before entering into FTM

Attach source/citation to all recorded evidence

From → genealogy

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

