Skip to content

One year ago Facebook told me my Dad died

July 3, 2015

On July 4 last year, my Dad died. At the time I was in Spain, on the final day of walking 1000k on Camino de Santiago.  Dad was in hospital, and I knew he was struggling, but he was my father, and looking back I thought he was invincible and would still be here when I arrived home.

This week, I’ve been thinking back to that day. I remember it well. I had walked 40k, a bit further than usual, but I was anxious to get to Finisterre, or Land’s End as it’s known. I had got into the habit of checking  my emails wherever a bar appeared with WiFi, but that day walking was very remote, with no opportunities for internet connection.

On arriving at Finisterre, I stopped for a much needed coffee and of course checked my phone. Facebook opened up immediately and there on my news feed was a post  announcing that my Dad had died. It was such a shock to get that news on Facebook. Of course on checking emails and calls, I found many missed calls and emails asking me to pkease contact the family.

I will never, ever forget the shock of getting that news on Facebook.

I posted recently about my Dad  here

Below are some of my favourite photos of him.


020

Jones 126

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Family stories

2 Comments
  1. I am a Facebook fan and have learned to navigate around the boring posts that aren’t funny, or cute. Occasionally, I get ticked with a political post that makes me feel complicit if I ignore something I disagree with in spades. With a few exceptions like this, I enjoy my personal page, and my authors page. Not once, have I ever thought about finding out a piece of information or news like your discovery about loosing your dad. These wonderful photos of him are a treasure, your adventure, something you will always remember, and the day you read on Facebook that your Dad had slipped away, something his generation could never have fathomed. Write on, honoring him on this fine blog.

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria