Skip to content

Imagine Ned

May 30, 2015

Ned_Kelly_in_1880 The Imagining Ned Exhibition is on in Bendigo at the moment, and a couple of weeks ago, I popped along for a visit. Of course I HAD to attend, as I have had a fascination with Ned Kelly since I first heard of him at school. But I’ve been especially interested in him, since I learned, through my family history research,  that a twig of my family tree appears on Ned Kelly’s family tree.

My Great Great Grandmother, Bridget Lloyd is the daughter of Thomas Lloyd who was married to Jane Quinn, cousin of Ned Kelly. I do admit that the relationship is very distant, but it’s close enough to keep me interested in all things related to the Kelly Gang. Bridget’s father, Thomas Lloyd was the fifth member of the Kelly gang. He wasn’t at Glenrowan when the shoot out occurred, so lived a longer life than other gang members.

Back to “Imagining Ned”. This exhibition follows the history and legend of Ned Kelly using fantastic art works. There are also artefacts to be seen , such as Ned’s famous armour, letters, guns, and various other items.

Many of Sydney Nolan’s famous art works are featured along with other artists such as Arthur Boyd, Adam Cullen, Juan Davila, and Norman Lindsay.

 

The exhibition runs until 28 June 2015.

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I will be in Bendigo next month so think I will have a look.

    How I would like to find myself to anyone famous or infamous…..even on a distant branch! I don’t even have a convict!

    • Sharon Ned is our only touch with fame. Even though very tenuous. And like you, no convict has yet turned up. Living in hope!

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria