Skip to content

A- Z Challenge Reflections

May 6, 2015

Reflections

This is my first Blogging from A to Z April Challenge and now that it is over,  and I have blogged from A-Z, one post daily, during the month of April, I find that many participants do a “reflections” post.

When I first came across the challenge, I thought it would be fun and could be a way to get me back into the routine of blogging regularly. My posts had been very sparse due to time and work pressures.

I can’t say that I started the challenge with a bang that is for sure.  My start was delayed, as I spent the first few days of April in Canberra attending CONGRESS2015. So, immediately I found myself in catch up mode and was planning on pulling out until I gave myself a severe talking to.  I had, at least,  planned the titles of the first few posts, which was a bonus. By the end of the first week, I was caught up and didn’t drop behind at all from then until the end.

I found posting daily to be a challenge, which didn’t surprise me,  but it did give me the kick start I needed to reinvigorate my blog and revisit my family history research, which has been ignored lately.

My theme of blogging people or places relating to my family history turned out to be much more useful to me than I expected. It enabled me to see gaps and unfinished bits and pieces in my research. I now have a list of research tasks that need to be done which will give much needed focus to my research. Feeling a little more organised has also re-energised me and I’m looking forward to a trip to the archives very soon.

One of the advantages of doing this challenge was the many bloggers I came across for the first time. I’m amazed at the variety of blogs out there. It seemed to me that most bloggers chose to blog the challenge on a theme. Many bloggers were really very imaginitive with their chosen theme.

I came across Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin when she commented on my blog, so of course quickly checked out her blog. I found her A-Z posts really interesting so popped in regularly. Due to time contstraints, I didn’t often comment on other blogs. I do regret that I didn’t show more support so I will improve on that in the next challenge.

Thank you to those bloggers out there who commented on my blog.  It really meant a lot to me to have people visit for the first time and give feedback.

I will definitely be doing this challenge again, when it comes around  in 2016. Already I’m starting to think of possible themes.  Just to really challenge myself, I am considering also doing the A-Z Blogging Challenge on my Fitness Blog in 2016.

9 Comments
  1. Because I am now following you, your reflection showed up in my e-mail this AM. I had time to click your site in order to read about your experience. You know the expression, fat, dumb and happy? That was me reading along only to discover you had singled me out in your reflection as an example of why the Challenge can be such fun. I’m so pleased that my visit prompted you to visit back, and here we are in your reflection. Glad you feel refocused on your blog and look forward to reading the results. From one of your new blogging friends!

  2. Its tough to blog everyday especially with a full time job but you have done pretty well! Kudos for catching up with posts and not giving up!! I used my theme for the 2015 challenge for local sightseeing – something which I would have otherwise continued to postpone!! Good Luck with your 2016 planning… 🙂

  3. I am dropping in on The A to Z Road Trip. Let’s sit for a sip of water if you don’t mind. This would have been a challenging theme with a lot of research. But it was very personal for you and that is awesome. I am glad you completed the challenge. Kudos to you for your first. I hope you will do it again!

    • Thankyou for your comments Paula I loved the challenge, even though it did challenge me at times! Will definitely be doing it again in 2016.

  4. Just now getting around to visiting the blogs in the challenge. April was a busy month for me. Congrats on completing the A to Z Challenge! Looking forward to next year! See you on the Road Trip!

    Mary
    http://www.JingleJangleJungle.net

    • Mary I also didn’t get time during April to check out other blogs. Looking forward to it during May. Will visit you soon

  5. Congratulations on completing your first challenge, it must have been a lot of research and work to do. I too am a first timer but with no theme, just random bits and pieces. The names Blaxland Wentworth & Lawson definitely pricked my interest, back to primary school history days!

  6. Loving your theme 🙂 I think it’s really interesting seeing what everyone chose for their themes!
    Popping by on the A to Z Road Trip I didn’t have a theme, but am considering one for next year
    Debbie
    http://www.myrandommusings.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria