Skip to content

April A-Z Challenge: W is for WHY family history fascinates me

April 27, 2015

WW is for WHY family history fascinates me.

Just for a change, I’ve decided to do something different with the letter W. Following below is an excerpt from a previous post with a few changes just to update time frames.

I’m fascinated with family history and genealogy,a subject that most of my friends and family consider, well, just plain boring. I fell into recording my family history by accident about 15 years ago, when I was asked to help organise a family reunion.

As the reunion was not for my own family, I was able to take it all in, without worrying about the work and research that needed to be done. But I was hooked. And now all these years later, the never ending task of researching and recording the many branches and twigs on my family tree continues.

There is much more to the story of my family history beginnings.  but this bare bones snippet will do for this post.

 

 

 

4 Comments
  1. What is it that makes it so addictive to some and so boring to others? It would be interesting to do a study and see if it is different personality types? I have found that most people who enjoy family history also enjoy puzzles and problem solving.

    • You could be right Sharon. I enjoy puzzles myself when I have the time. Genealogy certainly is a big puzzle.

  2. Hi Jennifer: I’m having a thought….wonder if you might add a LIKE button to your blog. As a new follower, I know I will not always have a comment to make, but if I could hit the Like button, you would at least know I have read your work and leaving a sign of encouragement. I know the stats show how many visits you have on any given day, but it feels like more of a connection to your blog to leave that “calling card.”

    • Thanks formalerting me Stepheny. I had that that there was a Like button on the blog. Will do. Thanks for visiting

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria