Skip to content

Day 2 Congress 2015

March 28, 2015

Keynote address: CONNECTING ACROSS PAST, PRESENT AND FUTURE – JOSHUA TAYLOR, President Genealogical Societies & Data, Strategy Manager of Findmypast

Joshua gave a very lively, entertaining and thoughtful talk about the connection of family history research to communities, and the importance of engaging younger generations  in their family history. We heard about his relationship with his grandmother and how that relationship in the past has impacted his present and future. This one hour session seemed to be over in minutes. Very enjoyable with lots of laughs. I came to love Josh’s grandma.

Session 1:  FOLLOW THE GOLD – CAROLE RILEY, Genealogist

I was interested to do this session, as I live in the gold rush area of Bendigo Central Victoria. We learnt how gold was mined and followed the trail of the gold rush from New South Wales, down to Victoria and across to Perth and surrounds.

Session 2:  SCOTLAND, MAPS & GAZETEERS FOR SCOTTISH RESEARCH  – PAUL MILNER, historian

Paul stressed that when doing Scottish research, we should look at all maps of an area, not just roads and towns. We shouldn’t forget maps of water systems, railroads, gealogical maps and the many other maps that are available for an area. I came away from this session with some ideas that might help to increase the information regardjng my S ottish line.

Session 3:   IRISH CENSUS & CENSUS SUBSTITUTES- DAVID RENCHER, Chief Genealogical Office for Family Search 

I went into this session not expecting too much, as I haven’t done a huge amount of work yet on my Irish family. David told us of the many resources available to search, that could give much needed information that may help to offset the non existant census papers.  I feel re-enthused and look forward to attacking my Irish research again.

Afternoon Keynote Address:  IF YOU EVER GO ACROSS THE SEA TO IRELAND.  REALITIES OF 19TH CENTURY IRELAND – RICHARD REID, historian

Before Richard began his presentation, we were surprised by Peter Corr singing Galway Bay. This was a beautiful, and touching way to begin this session about life in Ireland and the dreadful conditions caused by the potato famine, resulting in people leaving in huge numbers.

SESSION 4:  SEPARATION & DIVORCE. SCOTLAND 17th to 19th CENTURIES – JOHN BLACKWOOD, President Genealobical Society of Victoria

Ihaven’t come across any di orces in jy Scottish resear h yet, but if I do, I will be well equipped with a list of resources to search out information

SESSION 5:  REMEMBERING & COMMEMORATING OUR ANCESTORS – PERRY McINTYRE Historian

Another session on Irish research. This session will probably be my Congress highlight, covering many topics about remembering and commemorating our nation’s past. One of Perry’s many area’s of expertise is the Irish Orphan girls story. I was hanging on her every word as my Great Great Grandmother was one of the Orphan girls.

I will be checking out the website Irishfaminememorial.org when Congress is over and this will be my next research focus. I came out of the session with a huge “to do” list and my head spinning.

What a great day I had today. The short talks in the Speakers Corner were all very interesting. I particularly enjoyed hearing GeniAus. talk about blogging.

A highlight today was an arranged meeting with a fellow  Blogger before the day’s sessions began. We had been in contact and having conversations on Twitter in the weeks leading up to Congress 2015.  I realised last night that she lives very close to me, which surprised me. Today we also realised that my partner has a family connection with her family. So it’s not such a large world after all. And a lovely to surprise with which to begin Day 2

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

