Skip to content

Canberra here I come – AFFHO Congress 2015

March 25, 2015

IMG_9695250742490Working from home today. Or I should be working from home. I am at home, but not doing much work. Congress 2015 has been on my mind as we’re setting out for Canberra very early tomorrow morning.

Earlier today, when I sat myself down at the computer for a serious day of working, catching up on a huge pile of paperwork, I found it very difficult to concentrate. On my mind was all the packing I needed to do and the last minute bits and pieces to tidy up my social media and genealogy resources.

Firstly what to pack? With the change in the weather that has hit in the past couple of days, it looks like the winter woollies will be needed. So spent a little while searching for long sleeves, tights, boots etc. That’s all done now and as usual the pile of clothes is higher than intended.

Everything else in now done. The Congress App is up to date with my program entered. I love this app. There will be no need to carry around a program for the many sessions I have booked. It’s all there on the App!

A few bits and pieces that needed tidying up on Ancestry App is now done. Once again there is now no need to carry around hard copy listing my family history. It’s all there on the App!

My research interests have been listed on the Congress Delegates website. I don’t really expect any of the delegates to also be researching my family. But one just never knows!

My twitter list has been updated, and a genealogy list made, to make it easier to follow Twitter conversations at the conference.

My Kiva loans have been updated. I have posted  here previously about my involvement with Kiva and  the ‘Genealogists for Families’ project. I have received  enough credit due to loan repayments, to make 3 new loans so did that last night. I did want to get the loans up to date as there will be a meeting of Kiva lenders during Congress.

I’m just about to take my two dogs and two cats to the kennels and that will be the end of my day of preparation.The result of my day is that work-wise it was a disaster, only giving work about one hour of my time. But today, I really don’t care.  More importantly, I am now fully prepared, ready,  and organised for Congress.

See you in Canberra.

One Comment
  1. You’ll be exhausted before you get here! Today was quite balmy but there’s a nip in the air tonight.

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria