Skip to content

Genealogical Codicil

July 30, 2012

I always worry about what will happen to all my research documents after I’ve left this earth.  There is nobody in my family with any interest at all, or even interested enough to understand the value of these documents.
A few years ago I found this genealogical codical on RootsWeb. I have put it with my will, in the hope that whoever has the joyful task of sifting through my belongings will do as I ask.

GENEALOGICAL

CODICIL TO MY LAST

WILL AND TESTAMENT

To my spouse, children, guardian, administrator and/or executor:

Upon my demise, it is requested that you DO NOT dispose of any or all of my genealogical records, both those prepared personally by me and those records prepared by others which may be in my possession, including, but not limited to books, files, notebooks or computer programs for a period of two years.

During this time period, please attempt to identify one of more persons who would be willing to take custody of the said materials and the responsibility of maintaining and continuing the family histories.  (If you know who within your family or friends are likely candidates to accept these materials, please add the following at this point:  “I suggest that the persons contacted regarding the assumption of the custody of these items include but not be limited to” and then list the names of those individuals at this point, with their addresses and telephone numbers if known).

In the event you do not find anyone to accept these material, please contact the various organizations that I have been a member of and determine if they will accept some parts or all of my genealogical materials. (List of organizations, addresses and hone numbers at bottom; include local chapters, with their addresses, phone numbers and contact persons if available as well as state/national contact information and addresses).

Please remember that my genealogical endeavours consumed a great deal of time, travel, and money.  Therefore it is my desire that the products of these endeavours be allowed to continue in a manner that will make them available to others in the future.

Signature____________________________Date______________________

Witness_____________________________Date______________________

Witness_____________________________Date______________________

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. This is a brilliant idea, Jennifer. Having a branch of the family where there are no family documents, I understand the potential frustration your descendants will face if there’s nothing left. I think planning for the future is something I will also need to do.

  2. wonderful idea Jennifer, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

