Skip to content

My Son Craig

July 13, 2012

I am remembering Craig today on what would have been his 35th birthday.  Of course I think about Craig every single day. But on his birthday, I find myself wondering what he would have been like had he lived longer.

Craig died when he was 18, so I find it very difficult to imagine him as a man aged 35.

Would he have a family and children?  I think he most probably would, as he was known for his love of children, even at a young age.

Would he still be building those weird and wonderful bikes for his own children?

Would he still be doing the same job?

Would he still be living in our home town?

Would my life have changed as much as it has if Craig was still with us?

These questions can never be answered of course. All I can do is remember how lucky we were to have him for 18 years.

This is a loss I will never recover from but I just hope to be able to get through each year without him, as I somehow have managed to do so far.

I blogged about my Memories of Craig last year on the anniversary of his death. This is my favourite photo of Craig, taken when he was 11.

From → Family stories

7 Comments
  1. Another lovely tribute of your son. Thank you for sharing, on what I know will be a difficult day for you & your family.

  2. thanks for sharing your tribute Jennifer. Memories live on forever in our hearts.

  3. My sympathy Jennifer. Thank you for your courage in posting and remembering your son Craig. Such a terrible loss.

  4. Thinking of you and your family at this difficult time. Your posts about Craig are beautiful and moving.

  5. Sue C permalink

    Thinking of you lovely lady; I think its lovely how you write of him … xxx

  6. The wonder of what if. That wonder is something that haunts us all, but most of all the time thing. What if our ancestors did not do what they did, what would have happened to us all?

    In God’s care, that’s all.
    Our existence is but the blink of an eye, to Eternity.
    So however short it seems, think of the people who outlive all their children. Or of those worse off than us, and that includes a million holocaust survivors. What did they do wrong? Nothing!

  7. Oh Jennifer, I wish Craig Happy Birthday for yesterday and condolences to all who love and miss him… especially to you his Mum. Sending lots of xxx and healing energy. Catherine

Leave a Reply

