Skip to content

Week 14: 52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy

June 11, 2012

Amy Coffin of The We Tree Genealogy Blog in conjunction with GeneaBloggers has called for bloggers of genealogy and family history to take on the 2012 challenge of  52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy    This week’s topic is Cemeteries.  Last week we paid tribute to local genealogical and historical societies. This week we’re going to think bigger. For which state, provincial or national society are you most thankful?  What makes the society special? How do the publications and events of this group assist in your family history research?

The society that is helping me most with my research at the moment is The Highland Family History Society in Scotland. I’ve only been a member for about 6 months, but already I’m finding membership is very helpful to advancing my knowledge of the area. I really look forward to receiving their journal in the mail and love reading the articles. This alone is giving me a much clearer idea of early times in the area. I’m also hoping to contribute an article about my MORRISON family shortly in the hope of connecting with Scottish researchers.

Reading their list of upcoming events sends me to dreamland, where I dream of  the day I can attend one of these events. Very hopefully in the near future. My next UK trip will definitely involve a trip to Scotland and a visit to the Highlands

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

