Skip to content

Week 8: 52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy

February 22, 2012

Amy Coffin of The We Tree Genealogy Blog in conjunction with GeneaBloggers has called for bloggers of genealogy and family history to take on the 2012 challenge of  52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy    This week’s topic is Genealogy Libraries (and dedicated departments in regular libraries). Tell us about your favourite genealogy library. What or who makes it special?

The genealogical library that I love and appreciate is The Genealogical Society of Victoria situated in Collins Street, Melbourne. Due to my work, I don’t get to attend as often as I would like, but when I do get to make the two hour drive to the City for a GSV visit, I seem to very quickly lose all track of time. The point of entry is the bookstore with the always friendly Allison on the desk, waiting to meet and greet.  Often I have difficulty getting past this point, as this bookstore is great for browsing and catching up on the newest releases.

Because I don’t get to visit often,  I occasionally need help with locating the records I’m searching for, and I find the friendly volunteers are always more than willing to help with the search, and to offer any advice they may have.

In past years, I’ve spent hours searching through the UK and Welsh Parish Records. When I first started researching, many years ago, I found it exciting, to order up the records from the LDS and wait for the call that they had arrived. The trip to the City to read the records was always very exciting, not really sure, what would be found.

When it’s time to leave, the walk through the bookstore once again, usually finds me with a couple of new books, and the latest UK magazines.

Family research has changed in recent years, with so much information now available on the internet. And those changes are wonderful and have transformed our research. However there are still shelves of information that haven’t been digitised yet. So, my advice would be, to take a trip to your local genealogical or family history society. You might be suprised at what you could find.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria