Skip to content

Wk 3: 52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy

January 22, 2012

Amy Coffin of The We Tree Genealogy Blog in conjunction with GeneaBloggers has called for bloggers of genealogy and family history to take on the 2012 challenge of  52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy. This is my post for Week 3, once again slightly late, but better late than never.  Free Online Genealogy Tools are like gifts from above.  Which one are you most thankful for? How has it helped your family history experience?

My favourite free online gealogy tool is GENUKI: UK & Ireland Genealogy. I use this site for my English, Welsh and Scottish research. It is a free site, run by volunteers which gives references and links to whatever research information is required. There are hints on everything genealogical pertaining to the UK from information for beginners, through to any subject you would need to know about to research your family history successfully.

My first port of call when researching a new area is to GENUKI: UK & Ireland Genealogy. Firstly for general information about the area and it’s history. And to find out what is available to help me in my research.

I’m forever grateful to the volunteers who keep this site going, as I’m sure, are many other family historians and genealogists.

3 Comments
  1. Snap! I chose this one too 🙂 Great choice.

  2. That sounds like an excellent resource and to be run by volunteers is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

