Skip to content

Week 1: 52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy

January 4, 2012

Amy Coffin of The We Tree Genealogy Blog in conjunction with GeneaBloggers, has called for bloggers of genealogy and family history to take on the 2012 challenge of 52 Weeks of Abundant Genealogy. For weeks, I’ve been waiting eagerly for the 2012 challenge and wondering what it’s theme would be. Last year I followed the 2011 52 Weeks Challenge but didn’t find it until part way through the year, so didn’t feel right about joining in. This is going to be a huge challenge for me – both in regard to time and writing.

Week 1: Blogging Blogging is a great way for genealogists to share information with family members, potential cousins and each other. For which blog are you most thankful? Is it one of the earliest blogs you read, or a current one? What is special about the blog and why should others read it?

This weeks topic has had me thinking for days and trying to come up with one blog to write about. There are many blogs that I follow that I am very thankful for, for differing reasons. But how to choose just one?  The blog I’ve chosen to be most grateful for is Chris Paton’s blog,  British GENES (GEnealogy News and EventS) My plan for 2012 is to do more research on my maternal MORRISON family from Scotland. I have been very daunted about getting back to this research as I know very little about Scottish research. So for this reason I find this blog to be an incredible resource. British GENES (GEnealogy News and EventS) also has a huge amount of information about general British research.

Chris is very generous about sharing his knowledge, and his blog is a huge resource for me at the moment. Whenever I’m not sure of the best place to look for some elusive fact that I’m trying to find, I head first to this blog, knowing that Chris will direct me to exactly the right place to look. For researchers of Ireland, Chris also has links to Irish resources on this blog.

Another blog that I’m thankful for and visit often is Jill Ball’s Geniaus where I am constantly updated with happenings in the world of technology for genealogy, and coming events. Jill is an official blogger for RootsTech in February 2012, and I’m really looking forward to reading about the conference on her blog. As well as providing information and the Meme’s that I love so much, Jill is always supportive of others in the genealogical community.

Most inspirational blog by my vote, would go to Judy Webster’s blog Genealogists for Families. This blog was set up by Judy, just a few short months ago and already, many genealogists, and their friends and families, have been inspired by her, to join her team and make micro loans through Kiva, to small business people in struggling circumstances. These borrowers are not in a position to borrow from traditional institutions. The small loans enable them to make improvements to their small businesses, leading to the possibility of improved circumstances for their families. The motto that Judy created for the team is We care about families (past, present & future). Judy shows by her actions and her leadership that she does care.

I am very appreciative and thankful for the many genealogy and family history blogs that I read, and would love to be able to mention them all here.

10 Comments
  1. Jen, thank you for the huge compliment, and for being a great ambassador for Genealogists for Families. Right now our team has 125 members in 9 countries, and we have made loans to 250 individuals or groups, with a total value of $7,000. I look forward to the day when you and I can meet in person. As for the blogs… I know what you mean about “How to choose just one?” Jill Ball and Chris Paton were both on my short list. Thanks for writing about them and thus making my list shorter. I need to make a decision soon or I will be late finishing my Week-1 blog post!

    • Incredible, mindb-boggling stats Judy.

      • Yes, Jen, they certainly are amazing stats – and in the short time since I left that comment, five more people have joined. Three months ago, when we were just getting started, Joan said, “I sincerely think this will be huge.” She was right!

  2. Welcome to the GeneaBloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill 😉
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories” and family saga novels:
    “Back to the Homeplace” and “The Homeplace Revisited”
    http://thehomeplaceseries.blogspot.com/
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

  3. Hi Jen – pea green with envy about the time you had on the Genealogy Cruise. One day I will get there. Just need to be a bit more disciplined about saving. All the best with your goals for 2012.

    • I understand what you mean. At first I had to think long and hard about the money. Will be no holiday next year that’s for sure. But the cruise was well worth it.

  4. Jennifer you have a lovely blog, you are off to a great start. May I suggest an about page so we know who the author is. Looking forward to reading more.

    • Thankyou Lynne for your lovely comments. You are right. I do need an about page. will get to it soon

    • Thank you for the lovely comments you wrote about my blog. I have taken your advice onboard and created an About Me Page.
      Really looking forward to doing your Write Your Family History in 28 Days Challenge. It’s exactly what I need right now.

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria