Skip to content

Private Journal Of A Voyage To Australia by James Bell

January 3, 2012

 2012 The National Year of Reading

 January – The Amazing Read

Finally, I’ve chosen my book for the January theme of  The National Year of Reading. The theme is The Amazing Read. I’ve been racking my brain for weeks, trying to think of the most  amazing book I’ve read, thinking that I would re-read it in January.But I’ve read so many amazing books, how could I ever choose one of them to be amazing.

While thinking about this, I’ve been reading an amazing book, Private Journal Of A Voyage To Australia by James Bell.  Very slowly, the penny dropped – Here is  my amazing  read.

This book is the personal diary of James Bell, who took the long voyage to Australia in 1838, leaving his family and friends, and not knowing what to expect of the new country, so far away.

There are many reasons that I am amazed by this diary. Firstly, it’s very survival is amazing. The original diary turned up at a country bookstall in England, 150 years after it was written.   The State Library of South Australia managed to buy the diary at auction. Now, that is amazing.

The story of the voyage is also amazing.  A voyage which was meant to take about 130 days, actually took six months to arrive in Australia.  Many events and dramas occurred along the way, to make the voyage very difficult.

Also amazing is James Bell’s descriptions of the other passengers and his very detailed account of their comings and goings. He doesn’t hold back at all in expressing his opinion of most of them.

It is obvious in reading his words, that James Bell has a great sense of adventure. He also has a love of poetry, great religious faith, and is very nostalgic about his memories of those he left behind.

More than a century after the diaries were written, the reader can’t help but be reminded of the dangers of such an adventurous voyage. I am also reminded how lucky we are, that adventurous people like him, and like my ancestors, were brave enough to take the long voyage to a land that at the time was little known.

I hope you enjoy this amazing read as much as I did.

Published by Allen & Unwin 2011

From → Book Review

6 Comments
  1. Looks like another book I’ll have to read.

  2. I went to amazon to purchase this book but I guess it hasn’t been published in the US yet. I still added to cart and will get it when it becomes available. thank you for sharing.
    Regards,
    Theresa (Tangled Trees)

  3. I’ve just finished this book and found it a very enjoyable read. Great review!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 10 Famous Orgies Throughout The Centuries - Explore like a Gipsy, Study like a Ninja

Leave a Reply

Stepheny Forgue Houghtlin

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Cicero

Finding Family

One woman's obsession with family history.

ancestorchaser

A Tribute to my ancestors by Kerryn Taylor

Next Phase In Fitness & Life

Living a full life of fitness & fun in my senior years

briarpatricia

Where the words go when they're not busy elsewhere.

'Genealogists for Families' project

Family History and Genealogy

GeniAus

Family History and Genealogy

Western District Families

Stories of Pioneering Families From the Western District of Victoria