Skip to content

First days Cruising New Zealand

November 22, 2011

At last time to post. It’s been a hectic few days. Arrived in Auckland last Friday for the Unlock the Past GENEALOGY CRUISE. Spent the weekend sightseeing on foot. Not sure how far I walked but it was hours and hours on both Saturday and Sunday, checking out all the local points of interest. I’m sure there was much that I missed, but I managed to take a quick look at many scenic points.

Mr room mate arrived on Sunday. We hadn’t met before so I was very excited to meet her. We seem quite similar in many ways and so far we’re getting along really well.On Sunday we met up with a Facebook friend who was going to be my gym buddy. Lots of excitement and nervous energy. We were very excited to start the boarding process at midday and were on the ship in what felt like an incredible short time to clear customs and complete all the necessary paperwork.

Our first meeting with our fellow genealogists was at the meet and greet following dinner. Lots of catching up with old and new friends . There was a fantastic vibe of chat and laughter so it seems we are off to a great start. The presenters were introduced. Some I know from previous events or from following their blogs and tweets. Others I’m looking forward to getting to know. The seminar program makes me feel very excited with many topics that I’m interested in.

I’m planning on doing fitness based activities when we are in port so this cruise is going to combine my two passions perfectly – genealogy and fitness. One of the first things I did after boarding was to check out the gym. And what a gym it is! Have had an early morning start on both days at the gym. We are surrounded by food so really need to get some serious exercise in.

Today we are sailing into Tauranga for the day. There are quite a few shore tours, but I’ve decided to walk up and around Mt. Maunganui which towers over the harbour.

There is so much to do onboard between the seminars and the ship program , that so far it’s been very busy. No time for sitting by the pool on deck chairs yet. But that does look rather inviting.

If you’re reading this and you think it strange that I have inserted no links, well, that is because I’m having trouble doing it on the IPad. I’m slightly technically challenged but will put aside some time soon to figure it out

After the events of today, I can say we are off to a great start and I’m looking forward to the next 2 weeks

Seminars I attended yesterday
At Sea Then and Now -Shauna Hicks
Discover Scottish Family History – Chris Paton
The convict Irish – Perry McIntyre
Government Police & Education Gazettes – Rosemary Kopittke
Introduction to New Zealand Research -Lyn Blake
On the Internet with free genealogy sites -Jan Gow
Beginning Irish Research – Perry McIntyre

2 Comments
  1. Very jealous. If day 1 is indicative of the rest, it looks like you will have a fantastic time. Looking forward to all your updates.

  2. Jen, I’m glad to hear that you are having a good time. I enjoyed the History and Genealogy Cruise I did in March, and I wish I could have done this one too, as the itinerary for the 2013 cruise does not appeal to me.

Leave a Reply

