Skip to content

Wrap up – Unlock the Past Victorian Expo (Geelong)

September 10, 2011

This time last week I was in Geelong for the  Unlock the Past Victorian Expo (Geelong

Two full days of seminars was my idea of bliss and I had been looking forward to it for weeks. Due to the way my life changed a few years ago, I haven’t attended a seminar for about 4 years, so was very excited. I booked myself in for every session I could possibly fit in, but with 2 sessions on simultaneously during the weekend, there was sadly much that I missed.

Here are the seminars which I attended:

Friday

Genealogical Society of VictoriaSusie Zada

Soldier Settlement in Victoria – Dr. David Rowe

Introduction to family and local history research at  Public Record Office Victoria – Lauren Bourke

Royal Historical Society of Victoria  – Kate Prinsely

FamilySearch: Ancestors at your fingertips – Paul Parton

Researching Tasmanian Family History – Dr Diane Snowden

Researching Irish immigrant women – Dr. Liz Rushen

Saturday

Find my past: What is there, what is coming and how to use it  –  Rosemary Kopittke

1942:  War Comes to Australia – Alan Phillips

Preservation of your records – Kay Soderlund

Ancestry.com.au  – Brad Argent

Tracing English Ancestors –    Kerry Farmer

Look Local: It’s not all on the Web – Regional Family and local history societies –  Susie Zada

Social Media for Family Historians-  Carole Riley

Google your family tree: Tips and tricks – Shauna Hicks

Connecting with families online – Rosemary Kopittke’s

This was a very full program and I came away with many pages of notes and every seminar gave me ideas, and items to add to my ever-growing genealogy to-do list.  My only regret is that I couldn’t fit in every seminar.  I was very disappointed to have to missed Shauna Hicks talk on Asylums: Looking for the sick, the poor and the aged.  Hoping to catch up with it, somewhere down the track at another event.

While the seminars were continuing on, there were over 70 exhibitors in the main hall displaying and selling their products. Of course, my wallet was soon lighter as there were many books that I just couldn’t resist.  I noticed that Inside History Magazine was very popular, with very few quiet moments on their stand.  I had previously bought the first 3 issues so was wrapped to be able to get Issue 4 & 5 and the just released Issue 6. Must remember to get a subscription in for this high quality and very informative magazine.

Gould Genealogy were impossible to miss with their great range of books and CD’s. I purchased far too many, and intend to put in an order for more Expo specials tonight. At Unlock The Past stand I was very interested to hear more about the UTP cruise  in November. I won’t be able to make this one, but am hoping to be able to go on the March Cruise. Also hoping to find someone who would like to go with me to share cabin costs.

Congratulations and thanks to Alan Phillips and the Unlock The Past team for putting together and conducting a very informative and successful Victorian Expo. I would like to request that they please hold the next Victorian Expo in Bendigo or Shepparton – please, pretty please.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

