Skip to content

Specimen Cottages in Bendigo

May 18, 2013

033   028

031   032

This historical cottage which is probably the oldest house  in Bendigo is named Specimen Cottage, as it was built as a specimen of the workmanship of a Bendigo stonemason, in 1856.

The cottages are situated in Hargreaves Street, very close to the CBD amongst much more modern buildings.

Very aptly this cottage is the new home of the Bendigo Historical Society. I’m looking forward to the day, when my working hours are considerably less, and I have time to spend on research in this beautiful old building. I couldn’t think of a better building in Bendigo to house the Society.

From → Bendigo

5 Comments
  1. I will have to look for this next time I am in Bendigo.

    I love the old buildings and homes in Bendigo.

  2. Thanks Jennifer, I too will have to look for this building next time I am in Bendigo.

  3. I agree the old buildings here in Bendigo are beautiful. It’s a gorgeous old city especially for anyone with an interest in history

  4. robertrampling@optusnet.com.au permalink

    Hi Jen, long time since we have been in touch. Many changes for us both. I have been following all of your ‘Tracking Down The Family’ emails since you started sending them. We have moved to Mernda just down the track from Yan Yean cemetery and yesterday I called in and researched John Taylor #1 based on your historical document which was spot on as far as dates and locations are concerned. You probably already know the gravesite details but in case you don’t it is Grave 81, Row 13, Compartment 2. As it is an unmarked grave I would be very keen to erect a memorial headstone or something else as appropriate to mark the beginning of the Taylor dynasty and somewhere for people to go to reflect and contemplate their place in the universe. Yan Yean cemetery has a very serene feel to it and I am sure John would be pleased to know that he rests in such a tranquil and peaceful place. Judging from all your exploits you are keeping well and looking after yourself. I have missed our discussions and communications over the past few years. Love to you and your family, Bob Rampling0408 559 626New email address: bobdaz23@bigpond.com

    Date: Sat, 18 May 2013 04:07:37 +0000 To: robertrampling@optusnet.com.au

    • Thanks Bob for your very kind comments. I will shoot you an email as I’m very interested also in erecting a memorial headstone. Maybe we could join forces on this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers